Administrative Divisions of France - Overseas


The French Republic is further made up of the following overseas administrative divisions:

  • five overseas regions (régions d'outre-mer, or ROM): Guadeloupe, French Guiana, Martinique, Mayotte and Réunion, which have the same status as metropolitan regions.
  • each overseas region is coextensive with an overseas department (département d'outre-mer, or DOM), again with the same status as departments in metropolitan France. The first four overseas departments were created in 1946 and preceded the four overseas regions, Mayotte became a DOM in 2011. The dual structure overseas region/overseas department, with two separate assemblies administering the same territory, results from the extension of the regional scheme to the overseas departments in the 1970s. Each overseas region/department may transform into a single structure, with the merger of the regional and departmental assemblies, but voters in Martinique and Guadeloupe rejected this in two referendums in 2003. In Réunion the creation of a second department for the southern part of the island has been debated for some time.
  • the overseas departments are subdivided into 12 arrondissements (Mayotte does not have arrondissements)
  • the 12 arrondissements are further subdivided into 153 cantons with Mayotte having another 19 cantons
  • the 172 cantons are composed of 129 communes (in the five DOM, there are more cantons than communes, unlike in metropolitan France, because many communes are divided into several cantons, whereas in metropolitan France in general cantons are made up of several communes, except in large communes like Toulouse or Lille which are divided into several cantons)
  • Furthermore, as of January 1, 2009, there exist 16 intercommunal structures in the overseas departments, grouping 89 communes (79.5% of all the communes of the overseas departments), with 83.2% of the population of the overseas departments living in them intercommunal structures. These intercommunal structures are:
  • 7 Agglomeration communities
  • 9 Commune communities
  • five overseas collectivities (collectivités d'outre-mer, or COM): French Polynesia, Saint-Barthélemy, Saint-Martin, Saint-Pierre and Miquelon and Wallis and Futuna
  • French Polynesia (designated as an "overseas country", French: pays d'outre-mer) is divided into 5 administrative subdivisions (subdivisions administratives). For elections it is divided into 6 electoral districts (circonscriptions électorales) which differ slightly from the 5 administrative subdivisions. The 5 administrative subdivisions are divided into 48 communes. There also exist some associated communes as in metropolitan France.
  • Saint-Barthélemy (designated as a "collectivity", French: collectivité) is a new overseas collectivity created on February 22, 2007. It was previously a commune inside the Guadeloupe department. The commune structure was abolished and Saint-Barthélemy is now one of only three permanently inhabited territories of the French Republic with no commune structure. There are no cantons and arrondissements either.
  • Saint-Martin (designated as a "collectivity", French: collectivité) is also a new overseas collectivity created on February 22, 2007. It was also previously a commune inside the Guadeloupe department. The commune structure was abolished and Saint-Martin is now one of only three permanently inhabited territories of the French Republic with no commune structure. There are no cantons and arrondissements either.
  • Saint-Pierre and Miquelon (designated as a "territorial collectivity", French: collectivité territoriale, the same designation as Corsica which is a region and not an overseas collectivity) is divided into 2 communes with no arrondissements or cantons.
  • Wallis and Futuna (designated as a "territory", French: territoire) is divided into 3 districts (circonscriptions territoriales) which exactly match the three traditional chiefdoms (royaumes coutumiers) with their traditional kings still at their head, the only kings currently recognized in the French Republic. These 3 districts are: Uvea, Sigave, and Alo. Uvea is the most populous and is further divided into 3 wards (districts in French): Hahake, Mua, and Hihifo. Wallis and Futuna is one of only three permanently inhabited territories of the French Republic with no communes (the others being Saint-Barthélemy and Saint-Martin). It also has no arrondissements or cantons.
  • 1 sui generis collectivity (collectivité sui generis): New Caledonia, whose status is unique in the French Republic: it is the only French local government which is not a territorial collectivity (although its subdivisions are territorial collectivities). A self-determination referendum is scheduled for 2014 to decide the future status of the New Caledonia.
  • It is divided into 3 provinces
  • the provinces are subdivided into 33 communes
  • 1 overseas territory (territoire d'outre-mer, or TOM): the French Southern and Antarctic Lands, which have no permanent population and no communes.
  • the French Southern and Antarctic Lands are divided into 5 districts (districts in French):
1. Kerguelen Islands
2. Crozet Islands
3. Amsterdam Island and Saint Paul Island
4. Adelie Land.
5. the Scattered Islands (îles Éparses), a collection of six non permanently inhabited islands in the Indian Ocean: Banc du Geyser, Bassas da India, Europa, Juan de Nova, Glorioso, and Tromelin. These were previously administered separately but they have been joined with the French Southern and Antarctic Lands since February 2007.
  • Uninhabited island which belongs directly to the central State public land:
  • Clipperton Island: uninhabited island in the Pacific Ocean off the coast of Mexico which is directly under the authority of the Minister of Overseas France in Paris (until February 2007 it was administered by the high-commissioner of the French Republic in French Polynesia). Since the Scattered Islands were joined with the French Southern and Antarctic Lands also in February 2007, Clipperton Island is now the only island left in this category.

Read more about this topic:  Administrative Divisions Of France

Other articles related to "overseas":

Dunedin Public Art Gallery - Collection
... has a strong collection of old, modern and contemporary works, by New Zealand and overseas artists ... old master paintings in New Zealand and the most significant holdings of paintings by post 1800 overseas artists ... The gallery has significant holdings of overseas old master and modern prints and drawings, including a notable collection of Japanese woodblock prints ...
Riverside Secondary School (Singapore) - History - 2005 To 2007
... Pang was passionate about partnerships with local and overseas organisations and this led to our partnership with the polytechnics and an overseas school in Chennai ... learning for upper secondary students, including an overseas trip to Yunnan, China ...
List Of Dialling Codes In The United Kingdom - Overseas Territories
... Telephone numbers in British Overseas Territories do not come under the UK telephone numbering plan ... Below are the access codes for the overseas territories ...
East Lancs Overseas
... East Lancs Overseas was a subsidiary of the English bus manufacturer East Lancashire Coachbuilders, which was based in Blackburn ... East Lancs Overseas was the part of East Lancs in charge of taking orders and exporting buses outside of the UK ...
... Other terms with vaguely the same meaning are overseas Indian and expatriate Indian ... According to Ministry of Overseas Indian Affairs, India has the second largest diaspora in the world after Overseas Chinese ... The overseas Indian community estimated at over 25 million is spread across every major region in the world ...