61st Academy Awards - Awards


Films with multiple nominations:

8 - Rain Man

7 - Dangerous Liaisons, Mississippi Burning

6 - Who Framed Roger Rabbit, Working Girl

5 - Gorillas in the Mist

4 - The Accidental Tourist, Die Hard

3 - A Fish Called Wanda, Tucker: A Man and His Dream

2 - Big, Coming to America, Little Dorrit, Pelle the Conqueror, Running on Empty, The Unbearable Lightness of Being, Willow

Films with multiple wins:

4 - Rain Man, Who Framed Roger Rabbit (One of them was the Special Achievement award)

3 - Dangerous Liaisons

Winners are listed first and highlighted in boldface.

Best Picture Best Director
  • Rain Man – Mark Johnson
    • The Accidental Tourist – Lawrence Kasdan
    • Dangerous Liaisons
    • Mississippi Burning – Robert F. Colesberry, Frederick M. Zollo
    • Working Girl – Douglas Wick
  • Barry Levinson – Rain Man
    • Charles Crichton – A Fish Called Wanda
    • Mike Nichols – Working Girl
    • Alan Parker – Mississippi Burning
    • Martin Scorsese – The Last Temptation of Christ
Best Actor Best Actress
  • Dustin Hoffman – Rain Man
    • Gene Hackman – Mississippi Burning
    • Tom Hanks – Big
    • Edward James Olmos – Stand and Deliver
    • Max von Sydow – Pelle the Conqueror
  • Jodie Foster – The Accused
    • Glenn Close – Dangerous Liaisons
    • Melanie Griffith – Working Girl
    • Meryl Streep – A Cry in the Dark
    • Sigourney Weaver – Gorillas in the Mist: The Story of Dian Fossey
Best Supporting Actor Best Supporting Actress
  • Kevin Kline – A Fish Called Wanda
    • Alec Guinness – Little Dorrit
    • Martin Landau – Tucker: The Man and His Dream
    • River Phoenix – Running on Empty
    • Dean Stockwell – Married to the Mob
  • Geena Davis – The Accidental Tourist
    • Joan Cusack – Working Girl
    • Frances McDormand – Mississippi Burning
    • Michelle Pfeiffer – Dangerous Liaisons
    • Sigourney Weaver – Working Girl
Best Original Screenplay Best Adapted Screenplay
  • Rain Man – Ronald Bass and Barry Morrow
    • Big – Gary Ross and Anne Spielberg
    • Bull Durham – Ron Shelton
    • A Fish Called Wanda – John Cleese and Charles Crichton
    • Running on Empty – Naomi Foner
  • Dangerous Liaisons – Christopher Hampton
    • The Accidental Tourist – Frank Galati and Lawrence Kasdan
    • Gorillas in the Mist: The Story of Dian Fossey – Anna Hamilton Phelan and Tab Murphy
    • Little Dorrit – Christine Edzard
    • The Unbearable Lightness of Being – Jean-Claude Carrière and Philip Kaufman
Best Foreign Language Film Best Film Editing
  • Pelle the Conqueror (Denmark)
    • Hanussen (Hungary)
    • Salaam Bombay! (India)
    • The Music Teacher (Belgium)
    • Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown (Spain)
  • Who Framed Roger Rabbit – Arthur Schmidt
    • Die Hard – Frank Urioste and John Link
    • Mississippi Burning – Gerry Hambling
    • Rain Man – Stu Linder
    • Gorillas in the Mist – Stuart Baird
Best Documentary Feature Best Documentary Short
  • Hôtel Terminus: The Life and Times of Klaus Barbie – Marcel Ophüls
    • The Cry of Reason: Beyers Naude – An Afrikaner Speaks Out – Robert Bilheimer and Ronald Mix
    • Let's Get Lost – Bruce Weber and Nan Bush
    • Promises to Keep – Ginny Durrin
    • Who Killed Vincent Chin? – Renee Tajima and Christine Choy
  • You Don't Have to Die – William Guttentag and Malcolm Clarke
    • The Children's Storefront – Karen Goodman, Producer
    • Family Gathering – Lise Yasui and Ann Tegnell, Producers
    • Gang Cops – Thomas B. Fleming and Daniel J. Marks, Producers
    • Portrait of Imogen – Nancy Hale and Meg Partridge, Producers
Best Live Action Short Best Animated Short
  • The Appointments of Dennis Jennings – Dean Parisot and Steven Wright
    • Cadillac Dreams – Matia Karrell and Abbee Goldstein
    • Gullah Tales – George deGolian and Gary Moss
  • Tin Toy – John Lasseter and William Reeves
    • The Cat Came Back – Cordell Barker
    • Technological Threat – Bill Kroyer and Brian Jennings
Best Original Score Best Original Song
  • The Milagro Beanfield War – Dave Grusin
    • The Accidental Tourist – John Williams
    • Dangerous Liaisons – George Fenton
    • Gorillas in the Mist – Maurice Jarre
    • Rain Man – Hans Zimmer
  • "Let the River Run" from Working Girl – Music and Lyric by Carly Simon
    • "Calling You" from Bagdad Cafe Music and Lyric by Bob Telson
    • "Two Hearts" from Buster – Music by Lamont Dozier; Lyric by Phil Collins
Best Sound Mixing Best Visual Effects
  • Bird – Les Fresholtz, Rick Alexander, Vern Poore and Willie D. Burton
    • Die Hard – Don J. Bassman, Kevin F. Cleary, Richard Overton and Al Overton, Jr.
    • Gorillas in the Mist – Andy Nelson, Brian Saunders and Peter Handford
    • Who Framed Roger Rabbit – Robert Knudson, John Boyd, Don Digirolamo and Tony Dawe
    • Mississippi Burning – Robert J. Litt, Elliot Tyson, Rick Kline and Danny Michael
  • Who Framed Roger Rabbit – Ken Ralston, Richard Williams, Ed Jones and George Gibbs
    • Die Hard – Richard Edlund, Al DiSarro, Brent Boates and Thaine Morris
    • Willow – Dennis Muren, Michael McAlister, Phil Tippett and Chris Evans
Best Art Direction Best Cinematography
  • Dangerous Liaisons – Art Direction: Stuart Craig; Set Decoration: Gérard James
    • Beaches – Art Direction: Albert Brenner; Set Decoration: Garrett Lewis
    • Rain Man – Art Direction: Ida Random; Set Decoration: Linda DeScenna
    • Tucker: The Man and His Dream – Art Direction: Dean Tavoularis; Set Decoration: Armin Ganz
    • Who Framed Roger Rabbit – Art Direction: Elliot Scott; Set Decoration: Peter Howitt
  • Mississippi Burning – Peter Biziou
    • Rain Man – John Seale
    • Tequila Sunrise – Conrad Hall
    • The Unbearable Lightness of Being – Sven Nykvist
    • Who Framed Roger Rabbit – Dean Cundey
Best Makeup Best Costume Design
  • Beetlejuice – Ve Neill, Steve LaPorte and Robert Short
    • Coming to America – Rick Baker
    • Scrooged – Tom Burman and Bari Dreiband-Burman
  • Dangerous Liaisons – James Acheson
    • Coming to America – Deborah Nadoolman Landis
    • A Handful of Dust – Jane Robinson
    • Sunset – Patricia Norris
    • Tucker: The Man and His Dream – Milena Canonero
Best Sound Editing
  • Who Framed Roger Rabbit -- Charles Campbell, Louis Edemann
    • Die Hard -- Stephen Hunter Flick, Richard Shorr
    • Willow -- Ben Burtt, Richard Hymns

Read more about this topic:  61st Academy Awards

Other articles related to "awards, award":

3D Systems - Community Involvement & Partnerships
... In 2012, 3D Systems began partnering with the 90-year-old Scholastic Art Writing Awards in the Future New category ... For this branch of the Scholastic Awards, students will be challenged to express bold and innovative ideas using new technologies ... students free 3D design software to facilitate their creations and will award three winners with a $1000 scholarship ...
Kelly Osbourne - Awards and Nominations
2002 – Teen Choice Awards – TV – Choice Breakout Star, Female (The Osbournes) – Won 2003 – Teen Choice Awards – Favorite TV Personality – Nominated 2003 – Teen Choice ...
The A-Team - Production Notes - Awards
... During its time, The A-Team was nominated for 3 Emmy Awards In 1983 (Outstanding Film Sound Mixing for a Series) for the pilot episode, in 1984 (Outstanding Film Sound Mixing for a Series) for ...
59th World Science Fiction Convention - Awards - Other Awards
... John W ... Campbell Award for Best New Writer of 2000 or 2001 Kristine Smith ...
41st Academy Awards - Winners - Presenters
... Diahann Carroll (Presenter Best Visual Effects, Documentary Awards Honorary Award to Onna White) Tony Curtis (Presenter Best Supporting Actress, Short Subjects Awards, Documentary Awards) Jane ...