2nd United States Congress - States Admitted

States Admitted

  • March 4, 1791: Vermont was admitted as the 14th state, 1 Stat. 191
  • June 1, 1792: Kentucky was admitted as the 15th state, 1 Stat. 189

Read more about this topic:  2nd United States Congress

Other articles related to "states admitted, admitted, state, states":

37th United States Congress - States Admitted and Seceded and Territories Organized - States Admitted
... December 31, 1862 West Virginia admitted, Sess. 633 (Became a state on June 20, 1863) ...
4th United States Congress - States Admitted
... June 1, 1796 Tennessee admitted as a state formerly the Territory South of the River Ohio, Sess ...
Benjamin Harrison - Presidency 1889–1893 - States Admitted To The Union
... When Harrison took office, no new states had been admitted in more than a decade, owing to Congressional Democrats' reluctance to admit states that they believed would send Republican members ... Early in Harrison's term, however, the lame duck Congress passed bills that admitted four states to the union North Dakota and South Dakota on November 2, 1889 ... The following year two more states held constitutional conventions and were admitted Idaho on July 3 and Wyoming on July 10, 1890 ...

Famous quotes containing the words admitted and/or states:

    To be, contents his natural desire;
    He asks no Angel’s wing, no Seraph’s fire;
    But thinks, admitted to that equal sky,
    His faithful dog shall bear him company.
    Alexander Pope (1688–1744)

    My opinion is that the Northern states will manage somehow to muddle through.
    John Bright (1811–1889)