2008 Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000

The 2008 Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 was the twelfth running of the Australian 1000 race, first held after the organisational split over the Bathurst 1000 that occurred in 1997. It was the 52nd race tracing its lineage back to the 1960 Armstrong 500 held at Phillip Island.

Race details
Date 9 - 12 October 2008
Location Bathurst, New South Wales
Course Mount Panorama Circuit
6.213 km
Distance 161 laps, 1000 km
Driver Garth Tander
Time 2:07.2963
Race 1
First Craig Lowndes
Jamie Whincup
Second Jason Richards
Greg Murphy
Third James Courtney
David Besnard

The race, which was the tenth round of the 2008 V8 Supercar Championship Series, was held on the weekend of 9-12 October at the Mount Panorama Circuit just outside Bathurst.

Craig Lowndes, Jamie Whincup and the TeamVodafone won the race for the third year in succession, the first 'three-peat' of Bathurst 1000 wins since 1984 when it was achieved by Lowndes' mentor, Peter Brock and present day Jack Daniel's Racing team principal, Larry Perkins for the Holden Dealer Team.

Read more about 2008 Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000:  Driver Changes, Practice, Qualifying, Top Ten Shootout, Race, Standings