1991 Tooheys 1000

The 1991 Tooheys 1000 was the 32nd running of the Bathurst 1000 touring car race. It was held on 6 October 1991 at the Mount Panorama Circuit just outside Bathurst. The 1000 km race was held for cars complying with the provisions of Australian Group 3A Touring Car regulations with the field divided into three engine capacity divisions. It was the Round 2 of both the 1991 Australian Endurance Championship and the 1991 Australian Manufacturers' Championship.

Nissan driver Mark Skaife became the first driver since Peter Brock in 1983 to claim provisional pole position, pole position after the Top 10 runoff (with a then fastest touring car lap time of 2:12.63), the race win, as well as setting the races fastest lap, though his lap record in the race was set in the teams #2 GT-R and not the #1 he drove to victory with Jim Richards

The overall race time of 6h 19m 14.80s remained as the race record for the 1000 km event until it was broken at the 2010 event with a 6h 12m 51.4153s race time. As of the end of 2012 the 1991 edition is still one of the fastest races in the history of this event - currently third fastest.

Read more about 1991 Tooheys 1000:  Tooheys Top 10, Official Results, Statistics