What is Mozambique?

  • (noun): A republic on the eastern coast of Africa on the Mozambique Channel; became independent from Portugal in 1975.
    Synonyms: Republic of Mozambique, Mocambique


Mozambique, officially the Republic of Mozambique (Portuguese: Moçambique or República de Moçambique, ), is a country in Southeast Africa bordered by the Indian Ocean to the east, Tanzania to the north, Malawi and Zambia to the northwest, Zimbabwe to the west and Swaziland and South Africa to the southwest. The capital city is Maputo, (known as Lourenço Marques before Independence).

Read more about Mozambique.

Some articles on Mozambique:

Mozambican General Election, 2009 - Results - Assembly Election
... e • d Summary of the 28 October 2009 Assembly of the Republic of Mozambique election results Parties Votes % Seats +/– Liberation Front of Mozambique (Frente de ...
Mozambique - Cultural Identity
... Mozambique was ruled by Portugal and they share in common main language and second main religion (Roman Catholicism) ...
List Of Sets Of Four Countries That Border One Another - Africa - Malawi, Mozambique, Zambia, Tanzania
... Mozambique became independent from Portugal in 1975 ... Borders (km) Malawi - 475 ... Mozambique 1569 - 756 ... Zambia 419 ... - 338 Tanzania 338 ... - ...