Tripoli is the capital city and the largest city of Libya. As of 2011, the Tripoli metropolitan area (district area) had a population of 2.2 million people. The city is located in the northwestern part of Libya on the edge of the desert, on a point of rocky land projecting into the Mediterranean and forming a bay.

Tripoli includes the Port of Tripoli and the country's largest commercial and manufacturing centre. It is also the site of the University of Tripoli. The vast Bab al-Azizia barracks, which includes the former family plantation of Muammar Gaddafi, is also located in the city. Colonel Gaddafi largely ruled the country from his residence in this barracks.

Tripoli was founded in the 7th century BC by the Phoenicians, who named it Oea. Due to the city's long history, there are many sites of archaeological significance in Tripoli. "Tripoli" may also refer to the shabiyah (top-level administrative division in the current Libyan system), the Tripoli District.

Read more about Tripoli:  Name, History, Law and Government, Geography, Demographics, Climate, Economy, Main Sights, Colleges and Universities, Sports, Transport, Gallery

Other articles related to "tripoli":

... It is situated in the plain of Tripoli, at 650 m above sea level ... Strigkos is 1 km west of Kerasitsa and 7 km southeast of Tripoli ... The Greek National Road 39/E961 (Tripoli - Sparta - Gytheio) passes east of the village ...
Siege Of Tripoli (disambiguation) - In Tripoli, Libya
... Siege of Tripoli (1551), Ottoman Siege of Tripoli, Libya in 1551 from the Knights of St ... War (1801–1805), also known as Tripolitan War First Battle of Tripoli Harbor (1802) Second Battle of Tripoli Harbor (1804) Battle of Tripoli (1825), defeat ...
Libyan Premier League 1964–65 - Second Leg
... July 9, 1965 Al Hilal Benghazi 1 – 1 Al Ittihad Tripoli Al Baraka Stadium, Benghazi Al Maqinny Fathi Masoud Al Ittihad Tripoli win the 1964-65 Libyan Premier League with a 2-1 aggregate scoreline ... Libyan Premier League 2009–10 teams Al Ahly Benghazi Al Ahly Tripoli Al Akhdhar Asswehly Al Hilal Al Ittihad Khaleej Sirte Al Madina Annajma Al-Nasr ...