The Arena (Singapore TV Series)

The Arena (Singapore TV Series)

The Arena is a debate-style television show produced by MediaCorp Channel 5 in Singapore. Season 1 of the show was broadcast from January-March 2007. A second season, known as The Arena II, was aired from March-May 2008. The show involves teams of students from secondary schools in Singapore debating against each other on issues of topical interest.

Season 1 of the show was won by the team from the United World College of South East Asia, who defeated Hwa Chong Institution in the final. The season was hosted by the popular Singapore TV personality Adrian Pang.

For The Arena II, Jason Chan replaced Adrian Pang as the show's host. The season was won by Raffles Institution, who defeated Nanyang Girls' High School in the final.

The Arena was one of the four nominees for the 2007 International Emmy Award in the 'Children and Young People' category, alongside shows from Australia, Brazil and Poland. (The winning show in the category was The Magic Tree from Poland.) The Arena was also one of six nominees for the 'Best Game or Quiz Programme' at the 2008 Asian Television Awards.

Read more about The Arena (Singapore TV Series):  The Arena Season 1, The Arena II

Other related articles:

The Arena (Singapore TV Series) - The Arena II - Winning Team
... The winning team for The Arena II came from Raffles Institution ... Their team members were Adil Hakeem, Jarret Huang, Ashish Kumar and Nicholas Quah ...

Famous quotes containing the word arena:

    This is a Senate of equals, of men of individual honor and personal character, and of absolute independence. We know no masters, we acknowledge no dictators. This is a hall for mutual consultation and discussion; not an arena for the exhibition of champions.
    Daniel Webster (1782–1852)