Swimming World Swimmers of The Year

Swimming World Swimmers Of The Year

The Swimming World Magazine Swimmers of the Year, awarded by the American-based Swimming World Magazine. There are seven categories: World Swimmer, American Swimmer, European Swimmer, Pacific Rim Swimmer, World Disabled Swimmer, African Swimmer, and Open Water Swimmer of year. An award for male and female is made for each category.

The award was inaugurated in 1964, when Swimming World named Don Schollander as its World Swimmer of the Year. Two years later, a female category was added, and the awards continued in this format until 1980. The winners were mostly American until the rise of East Germany's women in the 1970s, and 1980 saw the creation of subcategories for American and European swimmers. Following the end of the Cold War, Germany declined following the end of the East's systematic state-sponsored doping program, while Australia's swimming team enjoyed a revival. In 1994, Australian swimmers won both awards for World Swimmer of the Year for the first time, and in 1995, a subcategory was inaugurated for Pacific Rim swimmers. A subcategory for disabled swimmers was introduced in 2003, and in the following year, an African award was launched after South Africa became the first country from the continent to win an Olympic relay. In 2005, open water swimming was added to the Olympic program and another category was duly added.

American swimmers have been the most successful in winning awards, with 45 titles, more than three times that of Australia (13). Michael Phelps of the United States has won the global award seven times, followed by Ian Thorpe of Australia with four. Regionally, German, Hungarian and Dutch swimmers have had the most success in Europe, while Australians have won more than three-quarters of the Pacific awards.

Read more about Swimming World Swimmers Of The Year:  World Swimmers of The Year, American Swimmers of The Year, European Swimmers of The Year, Pacific Rim Swimmers of The Year, African Swimmers of The Year, Open Water Swimmers of The Year, World Disabled Swimmers of The Year, See Also

Other articles related to "swimming world swimmers of the year":

Swimming World Swimmers Of The Year - See Also
... List of FINA Athletes of the Year International Swimming Hall of Fame. ...

Famous quotes containing the words year, swimmers, world and/or swimming:

    ... breaks ancestrally each year into
    Regenerate union. Let it always be there.
    Philip Larkin (1922–1986)

    Not only does every animal live at the expense of some other animal or plant, but the very plants are at war.... The individuals of a species are like the crew of a foundered ship, and none but good swimmers have a chance of reaching the land.
    Thomas Henry Huxley (1825–95)

    Just kids! That’s about the craziest argument I’ve ever heard. Every criminal in the world was a kid once. What does it prove?
    —Theodore Simonson. Irvin S. Yeaworth, Jr.. Jim Bird, The Blob, responding to the suggestion that they not lock up the teens pulling the alien “prank,” (1958)

    Whenever parents become overly invested in a particular skill or accomplishment, a child’s fear of failure multiplies. This is why some children refuse to get into the pool for a swimming lesson, or turn their back on Daddy’s favorite sport.
    Cathy Rindner Tempelsman (20th century)