Suite For Variety Orchestra (Shostakovich)

Suite For Variety Orchestra (Shostakovich)

The Suite for Variety Orchestra (post-1956) is a suite in eight movements by Dmitri Shostakovich. The work consists of a collection of movements which derive from other works by the composer.

For many years the Suite for Variety Orchestra was misidentified as the "lost" Suite for Jazz Orchestra No. 2 (1938), a different work in three movements that was lost during World War II, the piano score of which was rediscovered in 1999 by Manashir Yakubov, and orchestrated the following year by Gerard McBurney.

Shostakovich actually labelled the work as "No. 1", but no "No. 2" is known to exist. (However, Shostakovich biographer Derek Hulme announced in 2000 the discovery of a Suite for Variety Orchestra No. 2 in four movements.)

Read more about Suite For Variety Orchestra (Shostakovich):  Instrumentation, Movements, Background

Other articles related to "orchestra":

Suite For Variety Orchestra (Shostakovich) - Arrangements - Small Symphonic Orchestra
... by Andre and Marjorie Rieu (Second Waltz) by National Symphony Orchestraof Ukraine Conductor Theodore Kuchar ...

Famous quotes containing the words orchestra and/or variety:

    “Pop” Wyman ruled here with a firm but gentle hand; no drunken man was ever served at the bar; no married man was allowed to play at the tables; across the face of the large clock was written “Please Don’t Swear,” and over the orchestra appeared the gentle admonition, “Don’t Shoot the Pianist—He’s Doing His Damndest.”
    —Administration in the State of Colo, U.S. public relief program. Colorado: A Guide to the Highest State (The WPA Guide to Colorado)

    Please stop using the word “Negro.”... We are the only human beings in the world with fifty-seven variety of complexions who are classed together as a single racial unit. Therefore, we are really truly colored people, and that is the only name in the English language which accurately describes us.
    Mary Church Terrell (1863–1954)