South Africa - Provinces


At the end of apartheid in 1994, the "independent" and "semi-independent" Bantustans were abolished, as were the four original provinces (Cape, Natal, Orange Free State and Transvaal), and nine new provinces were created. Each province is governed by a unicameral legislature, which is elected every five years by party-list proportional representation. The legislature elects a Premier as head of government, and the Premier appoints an Executive Council as a provincial cabinet. The powers of provincial governments are limited to topics listed in the Constitution; these topics include such fields as health, education, public housing and transport.

Province Provincial capital Largest city Area (km2) Population (2011)
Eastern Cape Bhisho Port Elizabeth 168,966 6,562,053
Free State Bloemfontein Bloemfontein 129,825 2,745,590
Gauteng Johannesburg Johannesburg 18,178 12,272,263
KwaZulu-Natal Pietermaritzburg Durban 94,361 10,267,300
Limpopo Polokwane Polokwane 125,754 5,404,868
Mpumalanga Nelspruit Nelspruit 76,495 4,039,939
North West Mahikeng Rustenburg 104,882 3,509,953
Northern Cape Kimberley Kimberley 372,889 1,145,861
Western Cape Cape Town Cape Town 129,462 5,822,734

The provinces are in turn divided into 52 districts: 8 metropolitan and 44 district municipalities. The district municipalities are further subdivided into 226 local municipalities. The metropolitan municipalities, which govern the largest urban agglomerations, perform the functions of both district and local municipalities.

Read more about this topic:  South Africa

Other articles related to "provinces, province":

Early Modern France - Geography
... century, France was significantly smaller than it is today, and numerous border provinces (such as Roussillon, Cerdagne, Calais, Béarn, Navarre ... In addition, certain provinces within France were ostensibly personal fiefdoms of noble families (like the Bourbonnais, Marche, Forez and Auvergne provinces held ... expansion and an attempt to better integrate its provinces into an administrative whole ...
Bitchū Province
... Bitchū Province (備中国, Bitchū no kuni?) was a province of Japan on the Inland Sea side of western Honshū, in what is today western Okayama Prefecture ... It was sometimes called Bishū (備州?), with Bizen and Bingo Provinces ... Bitchu bordered Hōki, Mimasaka, Bizen, and Bingo Provinces ...
Magnesia (regional Unit) - Administration - Provinces
... Province of Volos - Volos Province of Almyros - Almyros Province of Skopelos Sporades - Skopelos Note Provinces no longer hold any legal status in Greece ...
Revolt Of The Three Feudatories - Three Feudatories
... and the rulers were unable to control the provinces in southern China directly ... from the former Ming Dynasty to help them govern the provinces in the south ... Qing government and granted governorship of the provinces of Yunnan and Guizhou ...
Provinces Of Algeria
... Algeria is divided into 48 wilayas (provinces), 553 daïras (circles, or counties see Districts of Algeria) and 1541 baladiyahs (municipalities, in French commune) ... The capital city of a baladiyah, daïra, or province (which is also the largest city of those) always gives those entities their name, even Algiers, the capital of the country gave it its name (El Djazayar, the ... the Assemblée Populaire Wilayale, in French) is the political entity governing a province, directed by the "Wali" (Governor), who is chosen by the Algerian President to handle the ...