Sixteen-segment Display

A sixteen-segment display, sometimes called a "Union Jack" display or a "British Flag" display, is a type of display based on 16 segments that can be turned on or off according to the graphic pattern to be produced. It is an extension of the more common seven-segment display, adding four diagonal and two vertical segments and splitting the three horizontal segments in half (A fourteen-segment display splits only the middle horizontal segment). Other variants include the fourteen-segment display and displays with fewer segments.

Read more about Sixteen-segment Display:  History

Other articles related to "display, displays":

Sixteen-segment Display - History
... Sixteen-segment displays were originally designed to display alphanumeric characters (Latin letters and Arabic digits) ... Later they were used to display Thai numerals and Persian characters ... Before the advent of inexpensive dot-matrix displays, sixteen and fourteen-segment displays were some of the few options available for producing alphanumeric ...

Famous quotes containing the word display:

    Voluptuaries, consumed by their senses, always begin by flinging themselves with a great display of frenzy into an abyss. But they survive, they come to the surface again. And they develop a routine of the abyss: “It’s four o’clock ... At five I have my abyss.”
    Colette [Sidonie Gabrielle Colette] (1873–1954)