Silent Hill

Silent Hill (Japanese: サイレントヒル, Hepburn: Sairento Hiru?) is a survival horror video game series consisting of nine installments published by Konami and its subsidiary Konami Digital Entertainment. The first four games in the series, Silent Hill, Silent Hill 2, 3, and 4, have been developed by an internal group, Team Silent (a development staff within former Konami subsidiary Konami Computer Entertainment Tokyo). The latter five games, Silent Hill: Origins, Homecoming, Shattered Memories, Downpour and Book of Memories, have been developed by various external developers.

Silent Hill is set in a multiverse consisting of reality and an alternate dimension whose form is based on the series' eponymous fictitious American town. The series is heavily influenced by the literary genre of psychological horror, with its player characters being mostly "everymen", in contrast to action-oriented survival horror video game series featuring combat-trained player characters, such as Resident Evil, which is widely regarded as Silent Hill's strongest "rival".

Miscellaneous adaptations of Silent Hill have been released, including various in print media, two feature films, and spin-off video games.

Read more about Silent HillMedia, Reception