Samata Party

The Samata Party is a political party in India. Initially formed as an offshoot of the Janata Dal in 1994 by Nitish Kumar and George Fernandes. The reason given was that the Janata Dal had shifted to casteism. The party has socialist leanings and is of considerable political and social influence in North India.

In the 1996 general elections, Samata Party came into alliance with Bharatiya Janta Party and won on eight seats, six in Bihar and one each in Uttar Pradesh and Orissa. Before this it was largely based in Bihar only. In 1998 general elections, again in alliance with Bharatiya Janta Party it won twelve seats, ten from Bihar and two from Uttar Pradesh.

In the 13th Lok Sabha (1999–2004), it had 12 (out of 545) members.

In October 2003, Fernandes, the president of the party, announced that the party would be merging with the Janata Dal (United). The Janata Dal (United) was part of the ruling coalition in the National Democratic Alliance. One minority in the party led by Brahmanand Mandal refused to go along with the merger. The Election Commission of India decided that the merger was not technically complete and so a faction was allowed to function under the name of Samata Party.

Recently there have been attempts by loyalists of George Fernandes to revive the Party. This possibility was not discounted by Fernandes' loyalist Jaya Jaitley... In Uttar Pradesh Sumit Sharma (Convener Of Uttar Pradesh) is again restructuring the Samata Party.

Other articles related to "party, samata party":

Janata Dal (United)
... Janata Dal (United) (JDU) is a political party in India with political presence mainly in Bihar and Jharkhand ... Janta Dal (United) party mentor and patron is "Veteran Socialist leader" George Fernandes George Fernandes broke away from the erstwhile Janata Dal and formed the Samata Party in 1994 ... The current party was formed by the merger of the erstwhile Janata Dal (United) with the Samata Party on October 30, 2003 ...
11th Lok Sabha - List of Members By State - Bihar
... Party Affiliation 1 Bagaha SC Mahendra Baitha Samata Party 2 Bettiah GEN Dr.Madan Prasad Jaiswal Bharatiya Janata Party 3 Motihari GEN Radha Mohan Singh ... Verma Bharatiya Janata Party 46 Giridih GEN Rabindra Kumar Pandey Bharatiya Janata Party 47 Dhanbad GEN Rita Verma Bharatiya Janata Party 48 Hazaribagh GEN Mahabir Lal Vishwakarma Bharatiya Janata ...
Digvijay Singh (Bihar) - Political Career
... In 1994, when George Fernandes created the Samata Party as an offshoot of the Janata Dal party, Digvijay Singh was one of the founding members along with Nitish Kumar ... Digvijay served as the spokesperson of the Samata Party ... elected to the 12th Lok Sabha (1998) on the Samata Party ticket and for a second term again in the 13th Lok Sabha (1999) from the same Banka Lok Sabha Constituency in Bihar ...

Famous quotes containing the word party:

    Political correctness is the natural continuum from the party line. What we are seeing once again is a self-appointed group of vigilantes imposing their views on others. It is a heritage of communism, but they don’t seem to see this.
    Doris Lessing (b. 1919)