Osun State

Osun State

Ọṣun State is an inland state in south-western Nigeria. Its capital is Osogbo. It is bounded in the north by Kwara State, in the east partly by Ekiti State and partly by Ondo State, in the south by Ogun State and in the west by Oyo State. The state's current governor is Rauf Aregbesola, who was declared as the winner of 2007 election by Appeal Court in Ibadan on 26 November 2010. Osun State is home to several of Nigeria's most famous landmarks, including the campus of Obafemi Awolowo University, Nigeria's pre-eminent institution of higher learning. The university is also located in the ancient town of Ile-Ifẹ, an important early center of political and religious development for Yoruba culture. Other important cities and towns include the ancient kingdom-capitals of Oke-Ila Orangun, Ila Orangun, Ede, Iwo, Ejigbo, Modakeke, Esa-Oke and Ilesa.

Read more about Osun State:  History, Culture, Demographics, Muslims and Christians in Osun State, Case of Shariah Law in Osun State, Shariah Courts Inauguration, Administrative Divisions

Other articles related to "state, osun state":

Local Government Areas Of Nigeria - List of LGAs
... LGA contact State Website Abadam Borno State Abaji FCT Abak Akwa Ibom State Abakaliki Ebonyi State Aba North Abia State Aba South Abia State Abeokuta North Ogun State Abeokuta ...
List Of Nigerian Cities By Population
... Rank City State Population 1 Lagos Lagos State 2 ... Kano Kano State 3 ... Ibadan Oyo State 4 ... Kaduna Kaduna State 5 ... Port Harcourt Rivers State 1053900 6 ...
... is the capital of Oriade Local Government area in Osun State of Nigeria ... It is a commuter city with connections to Ekiti State on one side, Ondo State on another and it has a border with the famous Ilesa the surrounding towns area ... This city also serves as the main route to the Osun State College of Technology in Esa-Oke ...
List Of Radio Stations In Nigeria - Osun State
... Nigeria 103.1 - Uniq FM, Ara Station,okesa ilesa osun state 104.5 - Living Spring FM, Ile-Awuye Oke Baale Osogbo ...
Osun State - Administrative Divisions
... Osun State is divided into three federal senatorial districts, each of which is composed of two administrative zones ... The state consists of thirty Local Government Areas, the primary (third tier) unit of government in Nigeria ... Osun state barely has a flag Osun State's 30 Local Government Areas are listed below with their headquarters in parentheses Aiyedaade (Gbongan) Aiyedire (Ile Ogbo) Atakunmosa East (Iperindo) Atakunmosa West (Osu ...

Famous quotes containing the word state:

    If I place love above everything, it is because for me it is the most desperate, the most despairing state of affairs imaginable.
    André Breton (1896–1966)