Northwest Territory

The Territory Northwest of the River Ohio, more commonly known as the Northwest Territory, was an organized incorporated territory of the United States that existed from July 13, 1787, until March 1, 1803, when the southeastern portion of the territory was admitted to the Union as the state of Ohio. Previously, it was part of the Indian Reserve, a territory under British rule set aside in the Royal Proclamation of 1763 for use by American Indians, which was assigned to the United States in the Treaty of Paris (1783).

The Congress of the Confederation enacted the Northwest Ordinance in 1787 to provide for the administration of the territories and set rules for admission as a state. On August 7, 1789, the new U.S. Congress affirmed the Ordinance with slight modifications under the Constitution. The territory included all the land of the United States west of Pennsylvania and northwest of the Ohio River. It covered all of the modern states of Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Wisconsin, and the northeastern part of Minnesota. The area covered more than 260,000 square miles (670,000 km2).

Read more about Northwest TerritoryHistory, Law and Government, Territorial Counties, Territorial Contributions

Other articles related to "northwest territory, territory":

George Turner (jurist)
... a stable government established in the newly acquired Northwest Territory ... In 1789, he was appointed by the Washington administration as a judge of the Northwest Territory to replace the deceased James Mitchell Varnum ... after its printer, William Maxwell), the first criminal and civil legal code for the Northwest Territory ...
Charles Willing Byrd - Legal and Political Career - Secretary of Northwest Territory
... Byrd was appointed Secretary of Northwest Territory by President John Adams on October 3, 1799, after Captain William Henry Harrison resigned to serve as a non-voting delegate in the House of Representatives ... While serving as Secretary of the Northwest Territory, Byrd also served as a Hamilton county delegate to the 1802 Ohio Constitutional Convention ...
Northwest Territory - Territorial Contributions
... states that ceded territorial claims in what would become the Northwest Territory State of New York, 1780–1782 Commonwealth of Virginia, 1781–1784 Commonwealth of Massachusetts, 1784–1785 State of ... territories that encompassed land that was previously part of the Northwest Territory Territory of Indiana, 1800–1816 Territory of Michigan, 1805–1837 Territory of ... states that encompass land that was once part of the Northwest Territory State of Ohio, 1803 State of Indiana, 1816 State of Illinois, 1818 State of Michigan ...
Treaty Of Fort Harmar
... between the United States government and numerous Native American tribes with claims to the Northwest Territory ... Clair, the governor of the Northwest Territory, and other American leaders such as Josiah Harmar and Richard Butler ... in the Firelands portions of the Western Reserve, an area that extended into the territory set aside for the tribes ...
Territorial Evolution Of The United States - 1800s
... July 4, 1800 Indiana Territory was formed from the western portion of Northwest Territory ... Northwest Territory was left with only most of Ohio and the rest of Michigan ... its Western Reserve to the federal government, which made it part of Northwest Territory, and is the northeastern part of present-day Ohio ...

Famous quotes containing the words territory and/or northwest:

    Size is not grandeur, and territory does not make a nation.
    Thomas Henry Huxley (1825–95)

    I got my first clear view of Ktaadn, on this excursion, from a hill about two miles northwest of Bangor, whither I went for this purpose. After this I was ready to return to Massachusetts.
    Henry David Thoreau (1817–1862)