Northern Samar

Northern Samar (Filipino:Hilagang Samar) is a province of the Philippines located in the Eastern Visayas region. Its capital is Catarman and is located at the northern portion of the island of Samar. Bordering the province to the south are the provinces of Samar and Eastern Samar. To the northwest, across the San Bernardino Strait is Sorsogon; to the east is the Philippine Sea and to the west is Samar Sea.

Read more about Northern Samar:  People and Culture, Tourism, Geography, History

Other articles related to "northern samar, samar, northern":

Legislative Districts Of Northern Samar
... The Legislative Districts of Northern Samar, namely the first and second districts, are the representations of the Province of Northern Samar in the Philippine ... Northern Samar was represented as part of the first district of Samar until 1967, and of Region VIII from 1978 to 1984 ...
Northern Samar - History
... simultaneously flared northward to Albay and southward to the northern coasts of Mindanao and then Cebu ... During World War II, the people of Northern Samar organized a platoon of volunteers supported by voluntary contributions ... Balite of Northern Samar and Felipe J ...
Cagayan Revolt - 17th Century - Sumuroy Revolt (1649-50)
... In the town of Palapag today in Northern Samar, Agustin Sumuroy, a Waray, and some of his followers rose in arms on June 1, 1649 over the polo y servicio ... in places such as Cebu, Masbate, Camiguin, Zamboanga, Albay, Camarines and parts of northern Mindanao, such as Surigao ... was also established in the mountains of Samar ...

Famous quotes containing the word northern:

    You’ll wait a long, long time for anything much
    To happen in heaven beyond the floats of cloud
    And the Northern Lights that run like tingling nerves.
    Robert Frost (1874–1963)