Louisiana House of Representatives

The Louisiana House of Representatives (French: Chambre des Représentants de Louisiane) is the lower house in the Louisiana State Legislature, the state legislature of the US state of Louisiana. The House is composed of 105 Representatives, each of whom represents approximately 42,500 people (2000 figures). Members serve four-year terms with a term limit of three terms (twelve years). The House is one of the five state legislative lower houses that has a four-year term, as opposed to the near-universal two-year term.

The House convenes at the State Capitol in Baton Rouge.

Read more about Louisiana House Of Representatives:  Leadership of The House, Composition, Standing Committees

Other articles related to "louisiana house of representatives, louisiana house, house":

Louisiana House Of Representatives - Standing Committees
... The Committees of the Louisiana House review proposed bills and either kill them or recommend their passage to the full House ... Jefferson Health and Welfare Scott Simon Frank Hoffman House and Governmental Affairs Timothy Burns Michael Danahay Insurance Greg Cromer Ledricka Thierry Judiciary Jeff ...
Charlie Melancon - Louisiana House of Representatives
... Melancon won a special election in 1987 for the Louisiana House of Representatives, followed by two more consecutive terms ...

Famous quotes containing the words louisiana and/or house:

    The recent attempt to secure a charter from the State of North Dakota for a lottery company, the pending effort to obtain from the State of Louisiana a renewal of the charter of the Louisiana State Lottery, and the establishment of one or more lottery companies at Mexican towns near our border, have served the good purpose of calling public attention to an evil of vast proportions.
    Benjamin Harrison (1833–1901)

    He has seen but half the universe who never has been shown the house of pain.
    Ralph Waldo Emerson (1803–1882)