Laurence James

Laurence James (21 September 1942 - 9 or 10 February 2000) was a British science fiction writer, especially known for his involvement with the "Deathlands" series.

James originally worked in publishing other people's books. In 1972 he embarked on the career of "a full-time freelance author and journalist". For several years thereafter he published short science fiction stories in both Britain and the US.

In 1974 he published his first full-length novel, "Earth Lies Sleeping" - the first in a series focused on the exploits of a galactic secret agent named Simon Rack. At the time he was living with his wife and their three children at an east Herefordshire village. In addition, around 1974, James published the fantasy saga of Hells Angels in England & Wales in the early 1990s under the name Mick Norman. The four books, Angels from Hell, Angel Challenge, Guardian Angels, and Angels on my Mind, were compiled as the Angel Chronicles (Creation Books, ISBN-1-871592-43-7).

Also in 1974 James' publisher at the time, Sphere Books, provided the reading public with a list of "what Laurence James likes" - including Alf Tupper, Wilson and Beraddock, old films, old comics, and Rock 'n' roll. Among what he disliked were suits, gherkins and earwigs.

Thereafter, James embarked on a highly prolific career, publishing dozens of novels under his own name as well as the pen names James Darke, James McPhee, Jonathan May, and James Axler. His writings included books for the series "Dark Future," "Earth Blood," "Galactic Security Service" and "Survival 2000," as well as a number of independent novels and short stories.

His biggest success was the post apocalyptic "Deathlands" series. "Pilgrimage to Hell" which launched the series was started in 1986 by Christopher Lowder, completed by James and published under the name James Axler.

James then went on to write solely no less than 32 novels in this series, attracting a significant fandom, up to and including Eclipse at Noon' in 1995.

Due to failing health, James was on that year forced to leave the series. He wrote one last novel, Crucible of Time that appeared in 1998.

He died in February 2000. After his death, "James Axler" remained a "House name" which continued to be used by others. In general, "Deathlands" fans consider his books to be the best of the series.

Other articles related to "laurence james, james, laurence":

Shadowfall (Deathlands Novel) - Series History
... Lowder (pen name "Jack Adrian") and Laurence James (pen name "James Axler"), with the first book called Pilgrimage To Hell ... Laurence James then solely wrote the Deathlands series up to and including Eclipse at Noon ... Prior to his death in February 2000, James wrote one last novel, Crucible of Time, which was released in 1998 ...
James Axler - Series - Deathlands
0 Encounter (1999) (by Alan Philipson) Pilgrimage to Hell (1986) (by Jack Adrian and Laurence James) Red Holocaust (1986) (by Laurence James) Neutron Solstice (1987) (by Laurence ...

Famous quotes containing the words james and/or laurence:

    The work of Henry James has always seemed divisible by a simple dynastic arrangement into three reigns: James I, James II, and the Old Pretender.
    Philip Guedalla (1889–1944)

    We sing, but oh the clay is vile
    Beneath our feet, and long the mile;
    But let the world dream otherwise,
    We wear the mask!
    —Paul Laurence Dunbar (1872–1906)