KDE Software Compilation 4

KDE Software Compilation 4 (KDE SC 4) is the current series of releases of KDE Software Compilation. The first major version (4.0) of this series was released on 11 January 2008, and the latest major version (4.9) was released on 1 August 2012. Major releases (4.x) are scheduled for every six months, while minor bugfix releases (4.x.y) are released monthly.

The new series includes updates to several of the KDE Platform’s core components, notably a port to Qt 4. It contains a new multimedia API, called Phonon, a device integration framework called Solid and a new style guide and default icon set called Oxygen. It also includes a new, unified desktop and panel user interface called Plasma, which supports desktop widgets, replacing K Desktop Environment 3’s separate components.

One of the overall goals of KDE Platform 4 is to make it easy for KDE applications to be portable to different operating systems. This was made possible by the port to Qt 4, which facilitated support for non-X11-based platforms, including Microsoft Windows and Mac OS X. Versions 4.0 to 4.3 of the KDE Software Compilation were known simply as KDE 4 – the name change was a component of the KDE project’s re-branding to reflect KDE’s increased scope.

Read more about KDE Software Compilation 4:  Release Schedule

Other articles related to "kde software compilation 4, kde":

KDE Software Compilation 4 - Release Schedule
... Date Event 4.0 2 April 2007 Subsystem Freeze From this date forward, no new KDE subsystem or major changes can be committed to kdelibs. 11 May 2007 Alpha 1 ... June 2007 trunk/KDE is module frozen Trunk is frozen for new or resurrected applications ... 4 July 2007 Alpha 2 Initially due to be called Beta 1, it was decided to retain the alpha designation because this release wasn’t judged to be beta quality ...

Famous quotes containing the word compilation:

    The United States Constitution has proved itself the most marvelously elastic compilation of rules of government ever written.
    Franklin D. Roosevelt (1882–1945)