Judicial Appointments Commission - Members


The Commission is made up of 15 members: 2 from the legal profession (1 barrister, 1 solicitor), 5 judges, 1 tribunal member, 1 lay justice (magistrate), 6 lay people, including the chairman. The members of the Commission are:

  • Chairman
    1. Mr Christopher Stephens
  • Professional
    1. Mr Martin Forde, QC
    2. Ms Alexandra Marks
  • Judicial
    1. The Honourable Lady Justice Jill Black, DBE
    2. His Honour Judge David Bean
    3. His Honour Judge Malcolm Birchall
    4. Her Honour Judge Deborah Taylor
  • Tribunal
    1. Her Honour Judge Alison McKenna
  • Lay justice
    1. Mr John Thornhill, Esq, JP, FRSA
  • Lay
    1. Dame Valerie Strachan, DCB
    2. Professor Noel Lloyd, CBE
    3. Dr Ranjit Sondhi, CBE
    4. Lieutenant General Sir Andrew Ridgway, KBE, CB
    5. Mrs Stella Pantelides

Read more about this topic:  Judicial Appointments Commission

Other articles related to "members":

University Of California - Academics
... The University of California and most of its campuses are members of the Association of American Universities (AAU) ... Collectively, the system counts among its faculty (as of 2002) 389 members of the Academy of Arts and Sciences 5 Fields Medal recipients 19 Fulbright Scholars. 106 members of the Institute of Medicine Eight campuses operate on the quarter system, while Berkeley and Merced are on the semester system ...
9th Division (Australia) - Decorations
... Seven of its members received the Victoria Cross, the nation's highest award for gallantry, these were (in alphabetical order by surname) Tom Derrick John Hurst Edmondson (posthumous) Percival ... Military decorations awarded to members of the 9th Division include 7 Victoria Crosses (VC) 41 Companion of the Distinguished Service Orders (DSO) Order of the British Empire 9 Officers of the ...
University Of California, San Francisco - Academics
... UCSF's faculty includes five Nobel Prize winners, 31 members of the National Academy of Sciences, 69 members of the Institute of Medicine, and 30 members of the Academy of Arts and Sciences ...
Politics Of Mauritania - Legislative Branch
... The National Assembly (Al Jamiya al-Wataniyah/Assemblée Nationale) has 81 members, elected for a five-year term in single-seat constituencies ... The Senate (Majlis al-Shuyukh/Sénat) has 56 members, 53 members elected for a six-year term by munical councillors with one third renewed every two years and ...

Famous quotes containing the word members:

    I weep for the liberty of my country when I see at this early day of its “successful experiment” that corruption has been imputed to many members of the House of Representatives, and the rights of the people have been bartered for promises of office.
    Andrew Jackson (1767–1845)

    For splendor, there must somewhere be rigid economy. That the head of the house may go brave, the members must be plainly clad, and the town must save that the State may spend.
    Ralph Waldo Emerson (1803–1882)

    Sometimes the best way to keep peace in the family is to keep the members of the family apart for awhile.
    Franklin D. Roosevelt (1882–1945)