Foreign Relations of Jersey - Politics - Parishes


Administratively, Jersey is divided into twelve parishes. All border on the sea. They were named after the Christian saints to whom their ancient parish churches were dedicated:

  • Grouville (historically Saint Martin de Grouville; incorporating Les Minquiers)
  • Saint Brélade
  • Saint Clément
  • Saint Helier
  • Saint John
  • Saint Lawrence
  • Saint Martin (historically Saint Martin le Vieux; incorporating Les Écréhous)
  • Saint Mary
  • Saint Ouen
  • Saint Peter
  • Saint Saviour
  • Trinity

The parishes of Jersey are further divided into vingtaines (or, in St. Ouen, cueillettes), divisions that are historic. Today they are used chiefly for purposes of local administration and electoral constituency.

The Connétable is the head of each parish, elected at a public election for a four-year term to run the parish and to represent the municipality in the Assembly of the States of Jersey. The Procureur du Bien Public (two in each parish) is the legal and financial representative of the parish (elected at a public election since 2003 in accordance with the Public Elections (Amendment) (Jersey) Law 2003; formerly an Assembly of Electors of each parish elected the Procureurs in accordance with the Loi (1804) au sujet des assemblées paroissiales). A Procureur du Bien Public is elected for three years as a public trustee for the funds and property of the parish and may contract when authorised by a Parish Assembly. The Parish Assembly is the decision-making body of local government in each parish; it consists of all entitled voters of the parish.

Each parish elects its own force of Honorary Police consisting of Centeniers, Vingteniers and Constable's Officers. Centeniers are elected at a public election within each parish for a term of three years to undertake policing within the parish. The Centenier is the only officer authorised to charge and bail offenders. Formerly, the senior Centenier of each parish (entitled the Chef de Police) deputised for the Connétable in the States of Jersey when the Connétable was unable to attend a sitting of the States. This function has now been abolished.

Read more about this topic:  Foreign Relations Of Jersey, Politics

Other articles related to "parishes":

Hof, Hedmark
... The parish of Hof (Hof prestegjeld) consisted previously of the three existing sub-parishes Hof church, Hof Finnskog church and Arneberg church ... It had also included the parishes Åsnes and Våler until 1848, when these parishes were separated out to form Åsnes clerical district ...
Roman Catholic Diocese Of Calgary
... The diocese contains 82+ parishes and missions specifically 37 parishes in Calgary alone of which, 10 are ethnic parishes, an additional university parish to serve the University of Calgary and ...
Roman Catholic Diocese Of Parañaque
... The diocese comprises 47 parishes, one chaplaincy and six shrines 22 parishes and three shrines in Parañaque 14 parishes and one shrine in Las Piñas and 9 parishes, two shrines and one chaplaincy in Muntinlupa ...