East Punjab

East Punjab (known simply as Punjab from 1950) was a state of India from 1947 until 1956, consisting of the parts of the Punjab Province of British India that went to India following the partition of the province between India and Pakistan by the Radcliffe Commission in 1947. The mostly Muslim western parts of the old Punjab became Pakistan's West Punjab, later renamed as Punjab Province, while the mostly Sikh and Hindu eastern parts went to India.

The princely states of the Punjab region (which had not been British possessions, so could not be partitioned by the British) all acceded to the new Dominion of India and were combined into the Patiala and East Punjab States Union (PEPSU).

The Constitution of India, which came into effect in 1950, renamed East Punjab as "Punjab".

In 1956, the PEPSU was merged into an expanded Punjab state. Later, with effect from 1 November 1966, there was yet another reorganization, this time on linguistic lines, when the state of Punjab as constituted in 1956 was divided into three: the mostly Hindi-speaking part became the present-day Indian state of Haryana and the mostly Punjabi-speaking part became the present-day Punjab, while a new union territory (Chandigarh) was also created, to serve as a capital to both states. At the same time, some parts of the former territory of Patiala and East Punjab States Union, including Solan and Nalagarh, were transferred into the state of Himachal Pradesh.

Read more about East PunjabModern Usage

Other articles related to "east punjab, punjab":

Mahar Regiment - History - The Border Scouts
... The Border Scouts were an irregular force formed by the people of the border villages in East Punjab during Partition ... Hailing as they did from the erstwhile greater state of East Punjab (which included the present states of Haryana and Himachal Pradesh), the force had people ... were given a more permanent character as the East Punjab Frontier Scouts in 1948 ...
Okara District - Castes
... Jat Clan Maitla Distribution Punjab (Pakistan), Punjab (India) and Sindh Religion Islam Languages Punjabi and Seraiki Maitla or Metlo is a Jat gotra or clan found in the Punjab ... Sahiwal, Rajanpur, Dera Ghazi Khan and Rahim Yar Khan in the Punjab and Ghotki, Sukkur, Khairpur, Naushahro Feroze, Sanghar, Larkana, Dadu, Nawab shah and Badin in Sindh ... District (specially in Khanpur tehsil), Layyah, Vehari, Sahiwal and Multan of Punjab ...
Sikh Diaspora - 20th Century
... The Sikhs made tremendous contributions to Punjab from 1857 to 1947 ... Lahore, the capital of undivided Punjab, had thriving Sikh neighborhoods ... The partition of Punjab between India and Pakistan was a seminal tragedy for Sikhs ...
Punjab, India - History - Independence and Its Aftermath
... In 1947 the Punjab Province of British India was partitioned along religious lines into West Punjab and East Punjab ... In 1956 this was integrated with the state of East Punjab to create a new, enlarged Indian state called simply "Punjab" ... The undivided Punjab, of which Pakistani Punjab forms a major region today, was home to a large minority population of Punjabi Hindus and Sikhs until 1947 ...
East Punjab - Modern Usage
... Since it ceased to be the name of a state, "East Punjab" has been used in India to refer to the eastern part of the present Punjab state, while in Pakistan it means the eastern part ...

Famous quotes containing the word east:

    Senta: These boats, sir, what are they for?
    Hamar: They are solar boats for Pharaoh to use after his death. They’re the means by which Pharaoh will journey across the skies with the sun, with the god Horus. Each day they will sail from east to west, and each night Pharaoh will return to the east by the river which runs underneath the earth.
    William Faulkner (1897–1962)