Deutsche Reichsbahn

The Deutsche Reichsbahn ("German Imperial Railway") – was the name of the German national railway created from the railways of the individual states of the German Empire following the end of World War I.

It was founded in 1920 as the Deutsche Reichseisenbahnen when the Weimar Republic (formally Deutsches Reich – "German Empire" – hence the usage of "Reich" in the name of the railway) took national control of the German railways, which had previously been run by the German states.

In 1924 it was reorganised under the aegis of the Deutsche Reichsbahn-Gesellschaft (DRG), a nominal private railway company, which was 100% owned by the German state.

In 1937 it was reorganised again as a state authority and given the name Deutsche Reichsbahn (DRB). After the Anschluss in 1938 the DR also took over the Bundesbahn Österreich (BBÖ, Federal Railway of Austria).

The East and West German states were founded in 1949. East Germany took over the control of the DR on its territory and continued to use the traditional name Deutsche Reichsbahn, while the railway in West Germany became the Deutsche Bundesbahn (DB, German Federal Railway). The Austrian Österreichische Bundesbahnen (ÖBB, Austrian Federal Railways) was founded in 1945, and was given its present name in 1947.

In January 1994, following the German union, the East German Deutsche Reichsbahn merged with the West German Deutsche Bundesbahn to form Germany's new national carrier, Deutsche Bahn AG, technically no longer a government agency but still a 100% state-owned joint stock company.

Read more about Deutsche Reichsbahn:  1920: Deutsche Reichseisenbahnen, 1924: Deutsche Reichsbahn-Gesellschaft (DRG), 1937: Deutsche Reichsbahn (DRB), 1938: Absorption of The Austrian Railways, 1939-1945: The Reichsbahn in The Second World War and The Holocaust, 1945-1949: Devolution of The Reichsbahn, 1949-1994: The Deutsche Reichsbahn (DR) in East Germany

Other articles related to "deutsche reichsbahn, deutsche":

Saxon XI HT - History
... The Deutsche Reichsbahn grouped the lighter engines of the second batch into its DRG Class 94.19, whilst the heavier ones were designated as DRG Class 94.20-21 ... left in Germany after the Second World War went into the Deutsche Reichsbahn in East Germany ... The last area of operations for these locomotives in the Deutsche Reichsbahn was on the ramp from Eibenstock upper station to Eibenstock lower station which was closed in autumn 1975 ...
List Of Former German Railway Companies - State Railways - State Railways After 1920
... Deutsche Reichsbahn (1920 to 1949), from 1924 to 1937 Deutsche Reichsbahn-Gesellschaft Southwest German Railways (Betriebsvereinigung der Südwestdeutschen Eisenbahnen) (SWDE) Railways of the ...
1949-1994: The Deutsche Reichsbahn (DR) in East Germany
... of Germany), were reunified and renamed the Deutsche Bundesbahn (DB - German Federal Railways) ... system in the Soviet Zone retained the name Deutsche Reichsbahn (DR), despite the connotations of the word "Reich" this was due to the designation of the ... continued to operate separately, but in 1994 they were merged to form the new Deutsche Bahn ...
List Of DRG Locomotives And Railcars
... by this list of DRG locomotives and railbuses belonged to the Deutsche Reichsbahn-Gesellschaft or DRG (1924–37) and its successor, the Deutsche Reichsbahn or ... German Imperial Railway Company) was formed under the terms of the Dawes Plan from the Deutsche Reichseisenbahnen (lit ... the Second World War the West German part of the DRB became the Deutsche Bundesbahn (DB), but its East German counterpart continued to be called the Deutsche Reichsbahn (DR ...
Prussian T 13 - T 13
... As a result of heavy losses after the First World War, another 72 were ordered by the Deutsche Reichsbahn and 12 by the Saar Railways which were ... were transferred from the Saar Railways to the Deutsche Reichsbahn ... The Deutsche Reichsbahn (East Germany) took over in 1950 locomotives 6401 ... and 92 6501–6504 from private railways ...