Creature Type (Dungeons & Dragons)

Creature Type (Dungeons & Dragons)

In the Dungeons & Dragons fantasy role-playing game, creature types are rough categories of creatures which determine the way game mechanics affect the creature. In the 3rd edition and related games, there are between thirteen and seventeen creature types. Creature type is determined by the designer of a monster, based upon its nature or physical attributes. The choice of type is important, as all creatures which have a given type will share certain characteristics (with some exceptions). In 3rd and 3.5 editions, type determines features such as hit dice, base attack bonus, saving throws, and skill points.

Certain magic items and special abilities, such as the ranger's favored enemy ability (prior to 4th edition) and bane weapons (in 3rd and 3.5 editions) interact with creature type.

Read more about Creature Type (Dungeons & Dragons):  4th Edition Types, Origins and Keywords

Famous quotes containing the words type and/or creature:

    To put it rather bluntly, I am not the type who wants to go back to the land; I am the type who wants to go back to the hotel.
    Fran Lebowitz (b. 1951)

    Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear—not absence of fear. Except a creature be part coward it is not a compliment to say it is brave; it is merely a loose application of the word. Consider the flea!—incomparably the bravest of all the creatures of God, if ignorance of fear were courage.
    Mark Twain [Samuel Langhorne Clemens] (1835–1910)