Crafoord Prize - Winners


Year Category Image Laureate Nationality Work
1982 Mathematics Vladimir Arnold Soviet Union Theory of non-linear differential equations
Louis Nirenberg United States
1983 Geosciences Edward Lorenz United States Geophysical hydrodynamics
Henry Stommel United States
1984 Biosciences Daniel H. Janzen United States Co-evolution
1985 Astronomy Lyman Spitzer United States Studies of the interstellar medium
1986 Geosciences Claude Allègre France Isotope geochemical relations
Gerald J. Wasserburg United States
1987 Biosciences Eugene P. Odum United States Ecosystem ecology

Howard T. Odum United States
1988 Mathematics Pierre Deligne Belgium
United States
Algebraic geometry
Alexander Grothendieck None
1989 Geosciences James Van Allen United States Exploration of space, the discovery the Van Allen belts
1990 Biosciences Paul R. Ehrlich United States Dynamics and genetics of fragmented populations
Edward Osborne Wilson United States Theory of island biogeography
1991 Astronomy Allan Rex Sandage United States Study of galaxies
1992 Geosciences Adolf Seilacher Germany Research into evolution of life
1993 Biosciences W. D. Hamilton United Kingdom Theories of kin selection and genetic relationship
Seymour Benzer United States Genetical and neurophysiological studies of fruit flies
1994 Mathematics Simon Donaldson United Kingdom Four-dimensional geometry
Shing-Tung Yau United States Non-linear techniques in differential geometry
1995 Geosciences Willi Dansgaard Denmark Development of isotope geological analysis methods
Nicholas Shackleton United Kingdom
1996 Biosciences Robert M. May Australia Ecological research
1997 Astronomy Fred Hoyle United Kingdom Study of nuclear processes in stars, stellar evolution
Edwin Salpeter United States
1998 Geosciences Don L. Anderson United States Study of the structures and processes in the interior of the Earth
Adam M. Dziewonski United States
1999 Biosciences Ernst Mayr United States Developing the concept of evolutionary biology
John Maynard Smith United Kingdom
George C. Williams United States
2000 Polyarthritis Marc Feldmann United Kingdom Definition of TNF-alpha
Ravinder N. Maini United Kingdom
2001 Mathematics Alain Connes France Theory of operator algebras, founder of the non-commutative geometry
2002 Geosciences Dan P. McKenzie United Kingdom Dynamics of the lithosphere
2003 Biosciences Carl Woese United States Third domain of life
2004 Polyarthritis Eugene C. Butcher United States Study of molecular mechanisms concerning white blood cells
Timothy A. Springer United States
2005 Astronomy James E. Gunn United States Understanding the large-scale structure of the Universe
James Peebles United States
Martin Rees United Kingdom
2006 Geosciences Wallace S. Broecker United States Research into the global carbon cycle
2007 Biosciences Robert Trivers United States Analysis of social evolution
2008 Astronomy Rashid Alievich Sunyaev Russia Contributions to high-energy astrophysics and cosmology
Mathematics Maxim Kontsevich Russia Contributions to mathematics from modern theoretical physics
Edward Witten United States
2009 Polyarthritis Charles Dinarello United States Isolation of interleukins, understanding their role in the onset of inflammatory diseases
Tadamitsu Kishimoto Japan
Toshio Hirano Japan
2010 Geosciences Walter Munk United States “for his pioneering and fundamental contributions to our understanding of ocean circulation, tides and waves, and their role in the Earth’s dynamics”.
2011 Biosciences Ilkka Hanski Finland “for his pioneering studies on how spatial variation affects the dynamics of animal and plant populations”.
2012 Astronomy Reinhard Genzel Germany "for their observations of the stars orbiting the galactic centre, indicating the presence of a supermassive black hole".
Andrea M. Ghez United States
Mathematics Jean Bourgain Belgium “for their brilliant and groundbreaking work in harmonic analysis, partial differential equations, ergodic theory, number theory, combinatorics, functional analysis and theoretical computer science".
Terence Tao Australia
United States

Read more about this topic:  Crafoord Prize

Other articles related to "winner, winners":

Heisman Trophy - University Success
... play a heavy role in the voting – a typical Heisman winner represents a team that had an outstanding season and was most likely in contention for the ... With an earlier win in 2002, the USC program actually had three different winners within four years ... Only two high schools have produced multiple Heisman trophy winners Woodrow Wilson High School in Dallas, Texas (1938 and 1987) and Mater Dei High School in Santa ...
FA Vase Winners and Finalists
... For a full list of FA Vase winners and runners-up, see List of FA Vase winners ... Two FA Vase winners, Forest Green Rovers and Tamworth, have gone on to play in the Football Conference at the top level of the non-league pyramid ... No FA Vase winner has yet reached the Football League, although 2008–09 finalists Glossop North End had briefly competed in the old First Division over a hundred years earlier, and 1985 ...
1980 AFC Asian Cup - Awards - Winners
... 1980 AFC Asian Cup Winners Kuwait First title. ...
Indonesia National Football Team - Honours - Others
... Jakarta Anniversary Tournament Winners (1) 1972 Runner-Up (1) 1978 Indonesian Independence Cup Winners (3) 1987, 2000, 2008 Pestabola Merdeka Winners (3 ...
Jamie Redknapp - Honours
... Liverpool FA Cup winners 1992, 2001 League Cup winners 1995, 2001 FA Charity Shield winners 2001 UEFA Cup winners 2001 UEFA Super Cup winners 2001 ...

Famous quotes containing the word winners:

    The two real political parties in America are the Winners and the Losers. The people don’t acknowledge this. They claim membership in two imaginary parties, the Republicans and the Democrats, instead.
    Kurt Vonnegut, Jr. (b. 1922)