College Football National Championships in NCAA Division I FBS

College Football National Championships In NCAA Division I FBS

A college football national championship in the highest level of collegiate play in the United States, currently the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS), is a designation awarded annually by various third-party organizations to their selection(s) of the best college football team(s). Division I FBS (formerly Division I-A) football is the only NCAA sport in which a yearly champion is not determined by an NCAA sanctioned championship event.

Because the championship team is not determined by a NCAA championship or tournament event, it is sometimes unofficially referred to as a "mythical national championship". Since the NCAA, the sport's governing body, does not determine or declare a national champion in this field, determination of such has often engendered controversy. A championship team is independently declared by various individuals and organizations, often referred to as "selectors". These choices are sometimes at odds with each other. While the NCAA has never officially endorsed an annual championship team, it has documented the choices of several selectors in the official NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision Records. In addition, various third party analysts have independently published their own lists of what they have determined to be the most legitimate selections for each season. These are also often at odds with each other as well as individual school's claims on national championships, which, for any particular season, may or may not correlate to the selections published elsewhere.

Currently, two widely recognized national champions selectors are the Associated Press, which conducts a poll of football sportswriters, and the USA Today Coaches' Poll, a poll of American Football Coaches Association active coaches that is contractually obligated to name the winner of the Bowl Championship Series championship game as its national champion.

Read more about College Football National Championships In NCAA Division I FBS:  History, National Championships in The Official NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision Records, National Championship Claims By School, College Football Data Warehouse Recognized National Champions, Poll Era (1936–present), BCS Championships

Other articles related to "championships, championship":

College Football National Championships In NCAA Division I FBS - BCS Championships - BCS National Champions By Conference (1998–present)
... Conference Championships Schools BCS Championship Game Record SEC 8 Tennessee (1998), LSU (2003, 2007), Florida (2006, 2008), Alabama (2009, 2011), Auburn (2010) 8–1 (0.88 ...

Famous quotes containing the words division, college, football and/or national:

    That crazed girl improvising her music,
    Her poetry, dancing upon the shore,
    Her soul in division from itself
    Climbing, falling she knew not where,
    Hiding amid the cargo of a steamship
    Her knee-cap broken.
    William Butler Yeats (1865–1939)

    I never went near the Wellesley College chapel in my four years there, but I am still amazed at the amount of Christian charity that school stuck us all with, a kind of glazed politeness in the face of boredom and stupidity. Tolerance, in the worst sense of the word.... How marvelous it would have been to go to a women’s college that encouraged impoliteness, that rewarded aggression, that encouraged argument.
    Nora Ephron (b. 1941)

    In football they measure forty-yard sprints. Nobody runs forty yards in basketball. Maybe you run the ninety-four feet of the court; then you stop, not on a dime, but on Miss Liberty’s torch. In football you run over somebody’s face.
    Donald Hall (b. 1928)

    It is to be lamented that the principle of national has had very little nourishment in our country, and, instead, has given place to sectional or state partialities. What more promising method for remedying this defect than by uniting American women of every state and every section in a common effort for our whole country.
    Catherine E. Beecher (1800–1878)