BCS National Championship Game

The BCS National Championship Game, or BCS National Championship, is the final bowl game of the annual Bowl Championship Series (BCS) and is intended by the organizers of the BCS to determine the U.S. national champion of the NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly known as NCAA Division I-A). The participants are the two highest-ranked teams in the BCS standings at the end of the regular college football season, currently (until the end of the current BCS television contracts in 2013) determined by averaging the results of the final weekly USA Today Coaches' Poll, Harris Interactive Poll of media, former players and coaches, and the average of six participating computer rankings.

Since the formation of the Bowl Championship Series, there have been several controversies regarding the schools selected to participate in the BCS National Championship Game. Most notably, following the 2003 season, the BCS ranking system selected the #3 ranked school in the Associated Press writers' poll, the University of Oklahoma, over the #1 ranked school in that poll, the University of Southern California, to participate in the National Championship Game (the Nokia Sugar Bowl) despite Oklahoma's decisive loss to Kansas State in the 2003 Big 12 Championship Game. 2003 is the only season, to date, since the inception of the BCS in which the national championship has been split, with Louisiana State University winning the BCS national championship and the University of Southern California winning the AP national championship and the FWAA national championship.

The BCS National Championship for the 2011 season at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans, LA was held on January 9, 2012, sponsored by Allstate, and televised on the ESPN television network. The Alabama Crimson Tide defeated the LSU Tigers 21-0 in the first shutout in BCS National Championship history. The game was also the first time that two teams from the same conference (and, very controversially, also from the same division of the same conference) met for the BCS National Championship. This controversial result is largely credited as having been the catalyst to the swift decision in the 2012 off-season to move to a 4-team playoff which will replace the BCS single-game championship format after the 2014 season.

Read more about BCS National Championship Game:  History, Game Records, Criticisms and Controversy, Future, Related National Championship Selections

Other articles related to "bcs national championship game, bcs, national, championship game, championship, games, game, bcs national":

2007 In American Football - NCAA - BCS National Championship Game
... The BCS National Championship Game for the 2006 season was played on January 8 at the University of Phoenix Stadium ... The BCS No. 1 Ohio State Buckeyes lost 41–14 to the BCS No ...
... in 1848, is a poem by the Slovene Romantic poet France Prešeren, considered the national poet of Slovenes ... On 27 September 1989, it became the national anthem of Slovenia ... which the March Revolution in 1848 elevated into a national political programme ...
Orienteering - Governing Bodies - National
... These national bodies are the rule-making body for that nation ... the British Orienteering Federation is the national governing body for the United Kingdom ...
2002 Ohio State Buckeyes Football Team - BCS National Championship Game
... January 3, 2003, selected that year as the championship game for the teams ranked first and second in the BCS ratings ... The Hurricanes were attempting to win their second consecutive championship, winning the Rose Bowl in the previous season and winning 34 straight games ... a first down Ohio State would have been in a position to run the clock out and win the game without it going to overtime ...
BCS National Championship Game - Related National Championship Selections
... See also College football national championships in NCAA Division I FBS Since there is no NCAA Division I FBS playoff, the BCS National Championship game is one of several national ... for its final poll of the season, the AFCA is contractually bound to select the BCS National Champion as the national champion Thus, the winner of the game is awarded the AFCA ... The BCS National Champion is also automatically awarded the National Football Foundation's MacArthur Trophy ...

Famous quotes containing the words game and/or national:

    I have a notion that gamblers are as happy as most people, being always excited; women, wine, fame, the table, even ambition, sate now & then, but every turn of the card & cast of the dice keeps the gambler alive—besides one can game ten times longer than one can do any thing else.
    George Gordon Noel Byron (1788–1824)

    Universal suffrage should rest upon universal education. To this end, liberal and permanent provision should be made for the support of free schools by the State governments, and, if need be, supplemented by legitimate aid from national authority.
    Rutherford Birchard Hayes (1822–1893)