Assembly of Kosovo

The Assembly of Kosovo (Albanian: Kuvendi i Kosovës; Serbian: Скупштина Косова, Skupština Kosova) was originally established by the United Nations Interim Administration Mission in Kosovo in 2001 to provide 'provisional, democratic self-government'.

On February 17, 2008, individual members of the Assembly of Kosovo (acting in personal capacity and not binding the Assembly itself), declared that Kosovo is independent from Serbia and subsequently adopted a constitution, which came into effect on 15 June 2008.

The Assembly of the new Republic of Kosovo is regulated by the Constitution of Kosovo and has 120 members; of these, 100 are directly voted into the Assembly whilst the rest are reserved as follows:

  • 10 seats for the representatives of the Serbs.
  • 4 seats for the representatives of the Roma, Ashkali and Egyptians.
  • 3 seats for the Bosniaks, Montenegrins, Croats, Hungarians, Toskan
  • 2 seats for the Turks.
  • 1 seat for the Gorans.

Read more about Assembly Of Kosovo:  Committees, Election Results, Notes and References

Other articles related to "assembly of kosovo, kosovo, of kosovo":

Assembly Of Kosovo - Notes and References
... ^ Kosovo is the subject of a territorial dispute between the Republic of Serbia and the self-proclaimed Republic of Kosovo ... Kosovo's independence has been recognised by 96 out of 193 United Nations member states ...

Famous quotes containing the word assembly:

    There is a sacred horror about everything grand. It is easy to admire mediocrity and hills; but whatever is too lofty, a genius as well as a mountain, an assembly as well as a masterpiece, seen too near, is appalling.
    Victor Hugo (1802–1885)