Arkansas Highway 1 - Route Description - DeWitt To Wynne

DeWitt To Wynne

Entering Arkansas County, the routes pass through Gillett and rural Arkansas County. In south De Witt AR 1 splits east from US 165 and AR 1 Business. AR 1 bypasses southeast De Witt, and after reconnecting with AR 1B continues northeast. AR 1 runs east through St. Charles before entering Monroe County. AR 1 Spur enters St. Charles, and terminates near the site of the Battle of Saint Charles on the White River.

Arkansas Highway 1 enters southern Monroe County briefly. At Cross Roads, AR 1 is the southern terminus of AR 17. On the Monroe/Phillips County line, AR 1 has a junction with Arkansas Highway 39 and Arkansas Highway 316. The route continues northeast to Marvell, where AR 1 concurs with U.S. Route 49 east to Walnut Corner. At the corner, AR 1 turns north past the Richardson-Turner House and enters Lee County. The route has a junction with AR 121 at Cypress Corner and continues north to Marianna.

In Marianna, Highway 1 breaks west from AR 1 Business, which runs downtown through Marianna. After AR 1B rejoins the main route, there is a 0.2 miles (0.32 km) concurrency north with U.S. Route 79. Further north, AR 1 passes Lee County Senior High and becomes four lane briefly until Forrest City. Upon entering St. Francis County, AR 1 enters Forrest City. The business route runs downtown, while the main route skirts the southwest edge of town. There is a parclo interchange with U.S. Route 70 and an interchange with Interstate 40. The business route meets AR 1 in north Forrest City, and AR 1 enters Caldwell and Colt before entering Cross County. South of Caldwell, AR 1 is near the historic Little Telico Creek Bridge, listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

Read more about this topic:  Arkansas Highway 1, Route Description

Famous quotes containing the word dewitt:

    I happened to find
    Your picture. That picture. I stopped there cold,
    Like a man raking piles of dead leaves in his yard
    Who has turned up a severed hand.
    —William Dewitt Snodgrass (b. 1926)