Argo Navis

Argo Navis (or simply Argo) was a large constellation in the southern sky that has since been divided into three constellations. It represented the Argo, the ship used by Jason and the Argonauts in Greek mythology. The abbreviation was "Arg" and the genitive was "Argus Navis".

Argo Navis is the only one of the 48 constellations listed by the 2nd century astronomer Ptolemy that is no longer officially recognised as a constellation. It was unwieldy due to its enormous size: were it still considered a single constellation, it would be the largest of all. In 1752, the French astronomer Nicolas Louis de Lacaille subdivided it into Carina (the keel, or the hull, of the ship), Puppis (the poop deck, or stern), and Vela (the sails). When Argo Navis was split, its Bayer designations were also split. Carina has the α, β and ε, Vela has γ and δ, Puppis has ζ, and so on.

The constellation Pyxis (the mariner's compass) occupies an area which in antiquity was considered part of Argo's mast (called Malus). However, Pyxis is not considered part of Argo Navis, and its Bayer designations are separate from those of Carina, Puppis and Vela.

The Maori had several names for what was the constellation Argo, these included Te Waka-o-Tamarereti, Te Kohi-a-Autahi, and Te Kohi.

Other articles related to "argo navis":

Sceptrum Et Manus Iustitiae
... by Ptolemy after 150 AD Andromeda Aquarius Aquila Ara Argo Navis Aries Auriga Boötes Cancer Canis Major Canis Minor Capricornus Cassiopeia Centaurus Cepheus Cetus Corona Australis ...
List Of Stars In Vela
... names) were given while it was still considered part of the constellation of Argo Navis ... After Argo Navis was broken up into Carina, Vela, and Puppis, these Greek-letter designations were kept, so that Vela does not have a full complement of Greek-let ... For example, since Argo Navis's alpha star went to Carina, there is no Alpha Velorum ...
Noteworthy Former Constellations - Argo Navis
... Argo Navis is the only constellation from Ptolemy's original list of 48 constellations that is no longer officially recognized ...