Anglican Diocese of Auckland

Anglican Diocese Of Auckland

The Diocese of Auckland is one of the thirteen dioceses and hui amorangi of the Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia. The Diocese covers the area stretching from North Cape down to the Waikato River, across the Hauraki Plains and including the Coromandel Peninsula.

The Diocese of New Zealand was established in 1841, and originally covered the entire country. In 1854, it was limited (as the Diocese of Auckland) to the Auckland region only.

The current bishop is Ross Graham Bay, who was enthroned as the 11th Bishop of Auckland at the Cathedral of the Holy Trinity on Saturday, 17 April 2010.

The theological college is the College of St John the Evangelist.

Read more about Anglican Diocese Of Auckland:  List of Bishops

Other articles related to "diocese, dioceses, anglican, anglican diocese of auckland":

Wiki Project Catholicism - Members
... I'm a Catholic priest with the Diocese of Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA. 9 June 2006 (UTC) andy 1522, 9 June 2006 (UTC) - doing some dioceses, especially the newly created ones Grumpy Troll (talk) I am not an expert on my own faith but will learn more ... I'll try and help to fill in articles related to Catholic University and the Anglican Use ...
Anglican Diocese Of Auckland - List of Bishops
... From Until Incumbent Notes 1867 ... George Selwyn, Bishop of New Zealand Sole bishop in New Zealand until 1856 primate from 1856 translated to Lichfield ... Bishops of Auckland 1902 ... William Cowie Also Primate from 1869 died in office ...

Famous quotes containing the word anglican:

    I am fifty-two years of age. I am a bishop in the Anglican Church, and a few people might be constrained to say that I was reasonably responsible. In the land of my birth I cannot vote, whereas a young person of eighteen can vote. And why? Because he or she possesses that wonderful biological attribute—a white skin.
    Desmond Tutu (b. 1931)