2006–07 OHL Season

The 2006–07 OHL season was the 27th season of the Ontario Hockey League. Twenty teams each played 68 games. The season commenced on September 21, 2006. The Plymouth Whalers won the J. Ross Robertson Cup defeating the Sudbury Wolves in the championship series.

The Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds moved from Sault Memorial Gardens (demolished in May 2006) into the new Steelback Centre, which opened October 11, 2006. The Oshawa Generals moved mid-season from the Oshawa Civic Auditorium to the General Motors Centre, on November 3, 2006.

The OHL announced, a new rule titled "Checking to the Head," effective for this season. . Also announced, the recently adopted National Hockey League rule on stick curvature will not be implemented until next season.

Read more about 2006–07 OHL Season:  Standings, Scoring Leaders, Leading Goaltenders, Canada-Russia Challenge, All-Star Classic, Playoffs, OHL Priority Selection, CHL Import Draft, Awards

Other articles related to "ohl":

2006–07 OHL Season - Awards
... London Knights Max Kaminsky Trophy Marc Staal, Sudbury Wolves OHL Goaltender of the Year Steve Mason, London Knights Jack Ferguson Award Ryan O’Reilly, Erie Otters Dave Pinkney Trophy Michal ...

Famous quotes containing the word season:

    The instincts of merry England lingered on here with exceptional vitality, and the symbolic customs which tradition has attached to each season of the year were yet a reality on Egdon. Indeed, the impulses of all such outlandish hamlets are pagan still: in these spots homage to nature, self-adoration, frantic gaieties, fragments of Teutonic rites to divinities whose names are forgotten, seem in some way or other to have survived mediaeval doctrine.
    Thomas Hardy (1840–1928)