Swiss Grand Prix

The Swiss Grand Prix (French: Grand Prix de la Suisse, German: Gro├čer Preis von der Schweiz) was the premier auto race of Switzerland. In its later years it was a Formula One race.

Grand Prix motor racing came to Switzerland in 1934, to the Bremgarten circuit, located just outside the town of Bremgarten, near Bern. The Swiss Grand Prix counted toward the European Championship from 1935 to 1939.

The Bremgarten track remained the home of the Swiss Grand Prix until 1954 and in 1948 it was designated the European Grand Prix, in a time when this title was an honorary designation given each year to one grand prix race in Europe. Any chance to return was erased in 1958 when motor racing was banned by the Swiss government as an unsafe spectator sport following the death of 80 people at the 1955 24 Hours of Le Mans race. The Swiss Grand Prix returned in 1975 as a non-Championship Grand Prix just across the border, at the Dijon-Prenois circuit, France. The next, and last, Swiss Grand Prix was a round of the Formula One World Championship in 1982, also held at Dijon.

On June 6, 2007 Swiss Parliament voted to lift the ban of circuit racing in Switzerland, 97 in favor and 77 opposed. However, the legislation was subsequently not ratified by the Swiss Council of States (the Senat) and the ban is now highly unlikely to actually be lifted.

Read more about Swiss Grand PrixWinners of The Swiss Grand Prix

Other articles related to "swiss grand prix, grand prix":

Winners of The Swiss Grand Prix
... A cream background indicates an event which was part of the pre-war European Championship ... Year Driver Constructor Location Report 1982 Keke Rosberg Williams-Ford Dijon (France) Report 1981 - 1976 Not held 1975 Clay Regazzoni Ferrari Dijon (France) Report 1974 - 1955 Not held 1954 Juan Manuel Fangio Mercedes Bremgarten Report 1953 Alberto Ascari Ferrari Report 1952 Piero Taruffi Ferrari Report 1951 Juan Manuel Fangio Alfa Romeo Report 1950 Nino Farina Alfa Romeo Report 1949 Alberto Ascari Ferrari Bremgarten Report 1948 Carlo Felice Trossi Alfa Romeo Report 1947 Jean-Pierre Wimille Alfa Romeo Report 1946 - 1940 Not held 1939 Hermann Lang Mercedes-Benz Bremgarten Report 1938 Rudolf Caracciola Mercedes-Benz Report 1937 Rudolf Caracciola Mercedes-Benz Report 1936 Bernd Rosemeyer Auto Union Report 1935 Rudolf Caracciola Mercedes-Benz Report 1934 Hans Stuck Auto Union Bremgarten Report ...
Winners of The European Motorcycle Grand Prix - As An Honorary Designation - By Year
... Year Designated Grand Prix Track 125 cc 175 cc 250 cc 350 cc 500 cc 750 cc 1000 cc Report 1948 Ulster Grand Prix Clady Maurice Cann Freddie Frith Enrico Lorenzetti Report 1947 ...
Richard Seaman - Results
1934 Coppa Acerbo (Voiturette) (3), Swiss Grand Prix (Voiturette) (1), Czech Grand Prix (Voiturette) (5) 1935 DNF Frontieres GP, Eifelrennen (Voiturette) (4), Coppa ...
Stanley Woods - Other Victories
... Date Capacity Make of Motorcycle Grand Prix circuit Average Speed 1924 600cc New Imperial (980cc) Ulster Grand Prix, Clady Circuit, Dundrod, Northern Ireland 72.71 mph 1925 600cc New Imperial (980cc) Ulster Grand Prix ...

Famous quotes containing the words swiss and/or grand:

    You know there’s only two things more beautiful than a good gun—a Swiss watch or a woman from anywhere.
    Borden Chase [Frank Fowler] (1900–1971)

    No grand idea was ever born in a conference, but a lot of foolish ideas have died there.
    F. Scott Fitzgerald (1896–1940)