Singapore League Cup

Singapore League Cup

The StarHub League Cup is an annual soccer competition in Singapore. It was launched in 2007, and is open to teams who play in the S.League. The title sponsor for 2013 is StarHub.

The 2007 competition was sponsored by SingTel, and officially titled the SingTel League Cup. Eight of the twelve S.League teams took part in the 2007 tournament, which was held before the start of the S.League season proper.

In 2008, the competition's official sponsored name was the Avaya-J&J League Cup (with sponsorship coming from Avaya and Jebsen & Jessen Communications). All twelve S.League teams took part in the 2008 tournament. Unlike the 2007 event, the 2008 competition was held during the S.League season.

The 2009 edition of the League Cup was held from 1 to 19 June, again during the S.League season. The competition began with a group stage, where the clubs were divided into four groups of three. The top two teams from each group qualified for the knockout stage. All knockout matches were played at the Jalan Besar Stadium. Live television coverage was provided by Starhub.

2010 saw the League Cup returning to a knockout format. The teams which finished in the top 4 positions in the 2009 S.League season were given byes to the quarter-final round, and the remaining clubs played a qualifying round to decide who would join them in the Cup competition. The draw was conducted before the qualifying round, which meant that qualifying clubs already knew which quarter-final slot they would be playing for.

The 2011 League Cup final on 30 June 2011 saw Albirex Niigata (Singapore) defeat Hougang United 5-4 on penalties to become the third consecutive foreign club to hold the trophy after DPMM and Etoile FC.

The 2013 tournament is currently sponsored by StarHub, and officially titled the StarHub League Cup.

Read more about Singapore League CupPast Results, All-time Records By Clubs, Previous League Cup Tournament (1997)

Other articles related to "league, cup, singapore league cup, singapore":

Plymouth Argyle F.C. - Records - Club Records
... Record League defeat 0–9 vs Stoke City, Second Division, 17 December 1960 ... Record FA Cup victory 6–0 vs Corby Town, FA Cup Third round, 22 January 1966 ... Record FA Cup defeat 1–7 vs Tottenham Hotspur, FA Cup First round Replay, 19 January 1910 ...
Singapore League Cup - Previous League Cup Tournament (1997)
... Main article 1997 Singapore League Cup A competition called the Singapore League Cup was also held in Singapore in 1997 ... In that year it was won by the Singapore Armed Forces Football Club who defeated Geylang United FC 1-0 in the final ... In 1998, that competition was renamed the Singapore Cup, and was opened to teams that do not play in the S.League ...
2007 Singapore League Cup
... The inaugural Singapore League Cup soccer competition was held in 2007, contested by eight of the twelve teams who played in Singapore's S.League ... The tournament was held before the start of the S.League season that year ... tournament with the same name that was held until in 1997 where the Singapore Armed Forces FC had defeated Geylang United by 1 - 0 in the final ...
2008 Geylang United FC Season - Matches - Singapore League Cup
... Home/Away Opponent team Score Scorers 1 May 31, 2008 Singapore League Cup 2008 Home Balestier Khalsa 1–2 M ...

Famous quotes containing the words cup and/or league:

    Sunday morning may be cheery enough, with its extra cup of coffee and litter of Sunday newspapers, but there is always hanging over it the ominous threat of 3 P.M., when the sun gets around to the back windows and life stops dead in its tracks.
    Robert Benchley (1889–1945)

    We’re the victims of a disease called social prejudice, my child. These dear ladies of the law and order league are scouring out the dregs of the town. C’mon be a glorified wreck like me.
    Dudley Nichols (1895–1960)