Legislative Districts of Manila

The Legislative Districts of Manila, namely the first, second, third, fourth, fifth and sixth districts, are the representations of the City of Manila in the Philippine House of Representatives.

Manila was originally divided into two representative districts from 1907 to 1949. On June 18, 1949, the Revised Charter of the City of Manila was enacted, dividing the city into four congressional districts. The city elected four representatives from the 2nd Congress up to the 7th Congress.

From 1978 to 1984, it was part of the representation of Region IV in the Interim Batasang Pambansa, and it elected six assemblymen at-large to the Regular Batasang Pambansa from 1984 to 1986. It was further redistricted into six districts by the 1986 Constitutional Commission.

Read more about Legislative Districts Of Manila:  1st District, 2nd District, 3rd District, 4th District, 5th District, 6th District, At-Large (defunct)

Famous quotes containing the words legislative and/or districts:

    Freedom of men under government is to have a standing rule to live by, common to every one of that society, and made by the legislative power vested in it; a liberty to follow my own will in all things, when the rule prescribes not, and not to be subject to the inconstant, unknown, arbitrary will of another man.
    John Locke (1632–1704)

    Cities need old buildings so badly it is probably impossible for vigorous streets and districts to grow without them.... for really new ideas of any kind—no matter how ultimately profitable or otherwise successful some of them might prove to be—there is no leeway for such chancy trial, error and experimentation in the high-overhead economy of new construction. Old ideas can sometimes use new buildings. New ideas must use old buildings.
    Jane Jacobs (b. 1916)