Districts of Afghanistan

The provinces of Afghanistan are divided into Wuleswali (Pashto: ولسوالۍ‎ wuləswāləi; Persian: شهرستان‎) or districts. The number of districts in Afghanistan has fluctuated over the years, with new districts created by splitting or merging parts of others. Prior to 1979, there were 325 districts. This was increased to 329 and, in 2004, a major reorganization led to the number increasing to 397. As of June 2005, the Afghan Ministry of the Interior recognised 398 districts, divided between the 34 provinces. This number is expected to change with further administrative reorganization.

The districts are listed below, by province:

Other articles related to "districts of afghanistan, districts of, district":

Districts Of Afghanistan - Southern Mainland Afghanistan - South Western Afghanistan - Zabul Province
... of Zabul Province Current Map of the Districts of Zabul Argahandab Atghar Daychopan Kakar - formerly part of Argahandab District Mizan Naw Bahar - created ... Qalat (Technically only a municipality, not a district) Shah Joy Shamulzayi Shinkay Tarnak Wa Jaldak ...

Famous quotes containing the word districts:

    Cities need old buildings so badly it is probably impossible for vigorous streets and districts to grow without them.... for really new ideas of any kind—no matter how ultimately profitable or otherwise successful some of them might prove to be—there is no leeway for such chancy trial, error and experimentation in the high-overhead economy of new construction. Old ideas can sometimes use new buildings. New ideas must use old buildings.
    Jane Jacobs (b. 1916)