British Far East Command - 1940–1942 - Commanders-in-Chief


Commanders-in-Chief have included:

Command Headquarters Rank Name Appointed
Far East Command Singapore Naval Base Commander-in-Chief Air Chief Marshal R. Brooke-Popham 18 November 1940
Lieutenant-General Sir H. R. Pownall 23 December 1941
Far East Air Force (Royal Air Force) Seletar Field, Singapore Air Officer Commanding Air Vice Marshal J.T. Babington 12 August 1938
Air Vice Marshal C.W.H. Pulford 6 May 1941
Air Vice Marshal P.C. Maltby 11–14 February 1942
Burma Command Rangoon, Burma General Officer Commanding Major General D.K. McLeod 1939
Lieutenant General T.J. Hutton 29 December 1941
Malaya Command Army HQ, Singapore General Officer Commanding Lieutenant General A.E. Percival May 1941
Hong Kong Garrison Hong Kong General Officer Commanding Major General C.M. Maltby August 1941

After the Far East came under the jurisdiction, from August 1943, of South East Asia Command ('SEAC'). The initial land forces operational area for SEAC had been India, Burma, Ceylon, British Malaya, Sumatra, and, for offensive operations, Siam (Thailand) and French Indochina. On August 15, 1945 this was expanded to include the Dutch East Indies and French Indochina. SEAC was disbanded in 1946 and in 1947 the Army Command was reformed under the name Far East Land Forces.

General Officers Commanding included:

  • 1947 - 1948 General Sir Neil Ritchie
  • 1948 - 1951 General Sir John Harding
  • 1951 - 1953 General Sir Charles Keightley
  • 1953 - 1956 General Sir Charles Loewen
  • 1956 - 1958 General Sir Francis Festing
  • 1958 - 1961 General Sir Richard Hull
  • 1961 - 1963 Lieutenant General Sir Nigel Poett

Read more about this topic:  British Far East Command, 1940–1942

Other related articles:

South Atlantic Station - Commanders-in-Chief
... Commanders-in-Chief have included Commander-in-Chief, South Atlantic and Pacific Admiral Sir Doveton Sturdee (1914) Commander-in-Chief, South Atlantic Vice Admiral Sir ...