WWE - Championships and Accomplishments - Defunct Championships

Defunct Championships

Main article: List of former championships in WWE

In its 50 year history, WWE has operated over twenty different championships. The company's first title, the WWWF United States Tag Team Championship, was created in 1958 and retired in 1967. Overall, the company has retired 19 championships with the most recent being the WWE Women's Championship. Created in 1956 and retired in September 2010, the consolidation of the WWE Unified Divas Championship into the WWE's 2008 WWE Divas Championship retired the older title and continued the lineage of the latter.

Read more about this topic:  WWE, Championships and Accomplishments

Other articles related to "defunct championships, championship":

List Of Former Championships In WWE - Defunct Championships
... Championship Date of entry First champion(s) Date retired Final champion(s) Notes 01 !1 WWF United States Tag Team Championship 02 !1958 Don Curtis and Mark Lewin 01 !July 29, 1967 Arion. 02 !2 WWWF United States Championship 04 !1963 Pedro Morales 02 !February 1976 Brazil, BoboBobo Brazil The title was retired without a formal announcement. 03 !3 WWF North American Heavyweight Championship 10 !March 1979 "Million Dollar Man" Ted DiBiase 03 !March 20, 1981 Seiji Sakaguchi The title was retired ...
Southern States Wrestling - Championships - Defunct Championships
... Championship Current champion(s) Previous champion(s) Date won Location TWA/NWA Tri-State Championship Ryan Phoenix August 2000 September 2004 SSW International Cup ...

Famous quotes containing the word defunct:

    The consciousness of being deemed dead, is next to the presumable unpleasantness of being so in reality. One feels like his own ghost unlawfully tenanting a defunct carcass.
    Herman Melville (1819–1891)