World Series Most Valuable Player Award

World Series Most Valuable Player Award

The World Series Most Valuable Player (MVP) Award is given to the player deemed to have the most impact on his team's performance in the World Series, which is the final round of the Major League Baseball (MLB) postseason. The award was first presented in 1955 as the SPORT Magazine Award, but is now decided during the final game of the Series by a committee of reporters and officials present at the game.

The series follows a best-of-seven playoff format, and occurs after the Division Series and the League Championship Series (LCS). It is played by the winners of the National League Championship Series (NLCS) and the American League Championship Series (ALCS). The most recent champions are the San Francisco Giants, who won in the 2012 World Series.

Pitchers have been named Series MVP twenty-six times; four of them were relief pitchers. Twelve of the first fourteen World Series MVPs were won by pitchers; from 1969 until 1986, the proportion of pitcher MVPs declined—Rollie Fingers (1974) and Saberhagen (1985) were the only two pitchers to win the award in this period. From 1987 until 1991, all of the World Series MVPs were pitchers, and since 1995, pitchers have won the award eight times.

Read more about World Series Most Valuable Player Award:  Winners

Other articles related to "valuable, world series most valuable player award, world series, player, series, award, world":

Max W. Kimmich - During The Nazi Era (1933–1945)
... praised the latter - shortly after release it was awarded not only "artificially valuable", but also "national-political valuable" by film checkers of the propaganda ... Man Missing (Der Vierte kommt nicht) in 1938/1939 were recommended as "artistically valuable" ... movie was recommended not only "artistically and national-political valuable", but additionally as "particularly suitable for adolescents" (jugendwert) ...
World Series Most Valuable Player Award - Winners
... Links to the article about that corresponding World Series Member of the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum Active player * Indicates player also won the LCS ... hitter.500 batting average 12 hits 8 runs batted in 1994 — — — Series cancelled due to player's strike 1995 Glavine, TomTom Glavine Atlanta Braves Starting ... Links to the article about that corresponding World Series Member of the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum Active player * Indicates player also won the LCS MVP Award in the ...
All-Star Most Valuable Player (PIHA)
... The All-Star Most Valuable Player is awarded to the Professional Inline Hockey Association is deemed the most valuable player in the PIHA All-Star Classic ...
Lorenzo Bernardi - Individual Awards
... 1992 FIVB World League "Most Valuable Player" 1994 World Championships "Most Valuable Player" 1995 European Championships "Most Valuable Player" ...

Famous quotes containing the words award, player, world, series and/or valuable:

    The award of a pure gold medal for poetry would flatter the recipient unduly: no poem ever attains such carat purity.
    Robert Graves (1895–1985)

    The chess-board is the world; the pieces are the phenomena of the universe; the rules of the game are what we call the laws of Nature. The player on the other side is hidden from us. We know that his play is always fair, just, and patient. But also we know, to our cost, that he never overlooks a mistake, or makes the smallest allowance for ignorance.
    Thomas Henry Huxley (1825–1895)

    Let us, then, take our compass; we are something, and we are not everything. The nature of our existence hides from us the knowledge of first beginnings which are born of the nothing; and the littleness of our being conceals from us the sight of the infinite. Our intellect holds the same position in the world of thought as our body occupies in the expanse of nature.
    Blaise Pascal (1623–1662)

    History is nothing but a procession of false Absolutes, a series of temples raised to pretexts, a degradation of the mind before the Improbable.
    E.M. Cioran (b. 1911)

    ... every experience in life enriches one’s background and should teach valuable lessons.
    Mary Barnett Gilson (1877–?)