Wisconsin Valley Conference

The Wisconsin Valley Conference is a high school athletic conference composed of the largest public schools in north-central Wisconsin centered on the Wausau, Wisconsin metro area. The Wisconsin Valley is one of Wisconsin's oldest athletic conferences. The conference sponsors a variety of high school sports for girls and boys. In 2008, Antigo and Merrill, which had been charter members for 87 years, moved to the Great Northern Conference. This was the first change of the Wisconsin Valley Conference since 1980 when member Shawano moved to the Bay Conference. In the summer of 2010 Merrill returned to the Wisconsin Valley Conference and Rhinelander moved to the Great Northern Conference. In 2010 The WVC Schools petitioned to the WIAA for scheduling assistance in Football. Therefore, a football only conference was formed made up of Fox Valley Association schools named the Valley Football Association. Due to the Valley Football Association subsequently having 16 teams and the inability to have all teams play one another, the conference was forced to split into two divisions: North & South.

Read more about Wisconsin Valley ConferenceMember Schools, Wisconsin Valley Football and Wrestling, Wisconsin Valley Conference Football Rivalries, Conference Champions

Other articles related to "wisconsin valley conference, wisconsin, conference":

List Of High School Athletic Conferences In Wisconsin - Wisconsin Valley Conference
... Stevens Point Panthers Wausau East Lumberjacks Wausau West Warriors D.C ... Everest Evergreens Wisconsin Rapids Red Raiders Marshfield Tigers Merrill Bluejays ...
Wisconsin Valley Conference - Conference Champions
1920 Antigo 1921 Merrill 1922 Stevens Point Wausau 1923 Wisconsin Rapids 1924 Shawano 1925 Stevens Point 1926 Antigo Wausau 1927 Marshfield 1928 Antigo 1929 Antigo 1930 Marshfield Wausau 1931 ...
Rhinelander High School - Extracurricular Activities - Sports
... High School sports are part of the Great Northern Conference, a division two conference ... Up until 2010, the Hodags were a part of the Wisconsin Valley Conference, a division one conference ... Football (Wisconsin Valley Conference from 1920-2010) Conference Titles 1934 Co-Conference Champions with Stevens Point, 1938 Conference Champions, 1955 ...

Famous quotes containing the words conference and/or valley:

    The peace conference must not adjourn without the establishment of some ordered system of international government, backed by power enough to give authority to its decrees. ... Unless a league something like this results at our peace conference, we shall merely drop back into armed hostility and international anarchy. The war will have been fought in vain ...
    Virginia Crocheron Gildersleeve (1877–1965)

    There is not in the wide world a valley so sweet
    As that vale in whose bosom the bright waters meet;
    Thomas Moore (1779–1852)