Wisconsin State University Conference

The Wisconsin State University Conference (or WSUC) is a former intercollegiate college athletic conference that was formed in July 1913 as the Wisconsin State Normal Conference. As implied by the name, all member institutions were located in the State of Wisconsin. The WSUC sponsored competitions and championships in basketball, football, and other sports.

Charter members included La Crosse, Wisconsin State College of Milwaukee (1913-1956), Oshkosh, Platteville, River Falls, Stevens Point, Superior, and Whitewater.

Other members included Eau Claire (joined 1917) and Stout (1914).

All of these schools were (and remain) State institutions, most of them originally founded as normal schools in the late 19th century, then successfully renamed as state teachers colleges, state colleges, and state universities before becoming campuses of the University of Wisconsin System when the latter merged with the Wisconsin State Universities in 1971.

Wisconsin State College–Milwaukee became University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee in 1956, leaving the conference.

In July 1997, the nine members of the WSUC merged with the Wisconsin Women’s Intercollegiate Athletic Conference to form the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference.

Famous quotes containing the words conference, university and/or state:

    Reading maketh a full man; conference a ready man; and writing an exact man.
    Francis Bacon (1561–1626)

    It is in the nature of allegory, as opposed to symbolism, to beg the question of absolute reality. The allegorist avails himself of a formal correspondence between “ideas” and “things,” both of which he assumes as given; he need not inquire whether either sphere is “real” or whether, in the final analysis, reality consists in their interaction.
    Charles, Jr. Feidelson, U.S. educator, critic. Symbolism and American Literature, ch. 1, University of Chicago Press (1953)

    Men judge by the complexion of the sky
    The state and inclination of the day.
    William Shakespeare (1564–1616)