Wirral (UK Parliament Constituency)

Wirral (UK Parliament Constituency)

Wirral was a county constituency which returned one Member of Parliament to the House of Commons of the Parliament of the United Kingdom, elected by the first past the post voting system.

Located in the Metropolitan Borough of Wirral, the constituency was created by the Redistribution of Seats Act 1885 for the 1885 general election, and abolished for the 1983 general election. The successor constituencies were Ellesmere Port and Neston, Wirral South and Wirral West.

Read more about Wirral (UK Parliament Constituency):  Boundaries, Members of Parliament, Election Results

Other related articles:

Wirral (UK Parliament Constituency) - Election Results - Elections in The 1910s
... General Election 1918 Electorate 31,264 Party Candidate Votes % ±% Unionist Gershom Stewart unopposed Unionist hold Swing A # denotes candidate who was endorsed by the Coalition Government. ...

Famous quotes containing the word parliament:

    Undershaft: Alcohol is a very necessary article. It heals the sick—Barbara: It does nothing of the sort. Undershaft: Well, it assists the doctor: that is perhaps a less questionable way of putting it. It makes life bearable to millions of people who could not endure their existence if they were quite sober. It enables Parliament to do things at eleven at night that no sane person would do at eleven in the morning.
    George Bernard Shaw (1856–1950)