What is Cumbria?

  • (noun): A county of northwestern England.
    See also — Additional definitions below


Cumbria ( /ˈkʌmbriə/, locally ) is a non-metropolitan county in North West England. The county and Cumbria County Council, its local authority, came into existence in 1974 after the passage of the Local Government Act 1972. Cumbria's largest settlement and county town is Carlisle and the only other major urban area is Barrow-in-Furness on the south-western tip of the county which has a population just slightly smaller than Carlisle. The county of Cumbria consists of six districts, and in 2008 had a population of just under half a million. Cumbria is one of the most sparsely populated counties in the United Kingdom, with 73.4 people per km2 (190/sq mi). In comparison, the Borough of Barrow-in-Furness, in the south, has a population density over twelve times this at 921/km2 (2,385.3/sq mi).

Read more about Cumbria.

Some articles on Cumbria:

Cumbria County Cup
... The Cumbria County Cup is an amateur rugby league knock-out competition for clubs in the county of Cumbria ... There is also a Cumbria Youth Cup ...
Llan (placename Element) - Place Names in England - Cumbria
... The Cumbric language was spoken in Cumbria up to the Early Middle Ages, and so some place names in Cumbria have a Celtic origin ... Lamplugh (Cumbria), Saint Moloch (the second element -plugh has also been explained as equivalent to Welsh plwyf 'parish' or blwch 'bare') ...
Salta, Cumbria
... Salta is a hamlet in northern Cumbria, United Kingdom ... It is located approximately 1.5 km (about 1 mile) from the village of Mawbray ...
Seathwaite, Allerdale
... Civil parish Borrowdale District Allerdale Shire county Cumbria Region North West Country England Sovereign state United Kingdom Police Cumbria Fire Cumbria Ambulance North West EU Parliament North ... part of the civil parish of Borrowdale, the district of Allerdale, and the county of Cumbria ...

More definitions of "Cumbria":

  • (noun): A former Celtic kingdom in northwestern England; the name continued to be used for the hilly northwestern region of England including the Lake District and the northern Pennines.