What is chatsworth house?

Chatsworth House

Chatsworth House is a stately home in North Derbyshire, England, 3.5 miles (5.6 km) northeast of Bakewell and 9 miles (14 km) west of Chesterfield (GB Grid SK260700). It is the seat of the Duke of Devonshire, and has been home to his family, the Cavendish family, since Bess of Hardwick settled at Chatsworth in 1549.

Read more about Chatsworth House.

Some articles on chatsworth house:

White Watson - Surviving Works
... Museum, are in the British Museum (Natural History), London, Oxford University Museum, Chatsworth House, Manchester Museum and Leicester Museum ... Watson's manuscript catalogue of the Chatsworth Mineral Collection is still kept at Chatsworth House, together with many of the specimens he provided for the collection ... own specimens, has been largely restored at Chatsworth House after over 10 years of painstaking restoration by the Russell Society ...
White Watson - Life 1760–1800
... and stonemasons engaged on the re-building of Chatsworth House between 1687 and 1706 ... Continuing the family tradition, in later years White Watson would also work for the Chatsworth Estate ... provided the magnificent black and white marble flooring for the Great Hall at Chatsworth House in 1779 ...
Chatsworth House - In Popular Culture
... Chatsworth House appeared in the 2005 film adaptation of Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice ... The house itself is named in the novel as one of the estates Elizabeth Bennet visits before arriving at Pemberley ... The house was also used in The Duchess (2008), featuring Keira Knightley and Ralph Fiennes, and The Wolfman (2010), with Benicio del Toro and Anthony Hopkins ...

Famous quotes containing the word house:

    The House of Lords, architecturally, is a magnificent room, and the dignity, quiet, and repose of the scene made me unwillingly acknowledge that the Senate of the United States might possibly improve its manners. Perhaps in our desire for simplicity, absence of title, or badge of office we may have thrown over too much.
    M. E. W. Sherwood (1826–1903)