V Boat

V Boat

The V-boats were a group of nine United States Navy submarines built between World War I and World War II from 1919–1934. These were not a ship class in the usual sense of a series of nearly identical ships built from the same design, but shared authorization under the "fleet boat" program. The term "V-boats" is used to includes five separate classes of submarines.

Originally called USS V-1 through V-9 (SS-163 through SS-171), in 1931 the nine submarines were renamed Barracuda, Bass, Bonita, Argonaut, Narwhal, Nautilus, Dolphin, Cachalot, and Cuttlefish, respectively. All served in World War II, six of them on war patrols in the central Pacific. Argonaut was lost to enemy action.

Read more about V Boat:  Background, V-1 Through V-3—the Barracudas, V-4Argonaut, V-5 and V-6Narwhal and Nautilus, V-7Dolphin, V-8 and V-9Cachalot and Cuttlefish, Conclusion, Ships

Other articles related to "v boat, boats":

V Boat - Ships
... the Navy adopted a numbering scheme that distinguished between coastal and general purpose boats, designated "SS" and fleet boats, designated "SF." Accordingly, T-1 through T-3 ...

Famous quotes containing the word boat:

    Does this boat go to Europe, France?
    Anita Loos (1893–1981)