Triple Crown of Hurdling

The Triple Crown of Hurdling is awarded to any horse that wins all three of the Grade 1 Hurdling races in any given English National Hunt season. The three races making up the Triple Crown are:

  1. The Fighting Fifth Hurdle, held at the Newcastle Racecourse
  2. The Christmas Hurdle, held at Kempton Park Racecourse
  3. The Champion Hurdle, held at Cheltenham Racecourse

In 2006, the World Bet Exchange (WBX) put up a £1,000,000 bonus to any horse that wins the Triple Crown. WBX offered the £1,000,000 prize, the richest in hurdling history, as a way to boost the profile of the betting exchange prior to its launch. The bonus is split among the winning horse's connections as follows:

  • Owner: £700,000
  • Trainer: £150,000
  • Stable Lad: £100,000
  • Stable Staff: £50,000

The only horse to have ever won all three of Triple Crown races in a season was the Sir Michael Stoute trained grey Henbit gelding Kribensis in 1989-90. Since the Triple Crown of Hurdling was established, only Punjabi and Go Native have come close to claiming the £1,000,000 prize, winning two of the three races.

Read more about Triple Crown Of HurdlingContents, Punjabi (2008/09), Go Native (2009/10), Triple Crown Leg Winners Since The 1979/80 Season

Famous quotes containing the words triple and/or crown:

    And we fairies, that do run
    By the triple Hecate’s team
    From the presence of the sun,
    Following darkness like a dream,
    Now are frolic. Not a mouse
    Shall disturb this hallowed house.
    William Shakespeare (1564–1616)

    It grazes the horizons, launched above

    Mortality—ascending emerald-bright,
    A fountain at salute, a crown in view—
    Hart Crane (1899–1932)