Triple Crown of Cycling - Other Definitions - Winning All Three Grand Tours in A Career

Winning All Three Grand Tours in A Career

The triple crown of cycling is sometimes defined as winning all three grand tours (Tour de France, Vuelta a España and Giro d'Italia) in a career, although this is sometimes named grand tour triple crown According to this definition, the triple crown of cycling has been won by five cyclists:

In bold the win that achieved the triple crown

Cyclist Tour de France wins Vuelta a España wins Giro d'Italia wins
Jacques Anquetil (FRA) 1957, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964 1963 1960, 1964
Felice Gimondi (ITA) 1965 1968 1967, 1969, 1976
Eddy Merckx (BEL) 1969, 1970, 1971, 1972, 1974 1973 1968, 1970, 1972, 1973, 1974
Bernard Hinault (FRA) 1978, 1979, 1981, 1982, 1985 1978, 1983 1980, 1982, 1985
Alberto Contador (ESP) 2007, 2009 2008, 2012 2008

Read more about this topic:  Triple Crown Of Cycling, Other Definitions

Famous quotes containing the words career, winning and/or grand:

    I began my editorial career with the presidency of Mr. Adams, and my principal object was to render his administration all the assistance in my power. I flattered myself with the hope of accompanying him through [his] voyage, and of partaking in a trifling degree, of the glory of the enterprise; but he suddenly tacked about, and I could follow him no longer. I therefore waited for the first opportunity to haul down my sails.
    William Cobbett (1762–1835)

    Power-worship blurs political judgement because it leads, almost unavoidably, to the belief that present trends will continue. Whoever is winning at the moment will always seem to be invincible.
    George Orwell (1903–1950)

    The grand style is available now only in old poems, museums, and parodies.
    Mason Cooley (b. 1927)