Toledo, Ohio Metropolitan Area - Transportation - Rail Transportation

Rail Transportation

Amtrak, the national passenger rail system, provides service to Toledo under the Capitol Limited and the Lake Shore Limited. Both lines stop at Martin Luther King, Jr. Plaza which was built as Central Union Terminal by the New York Central Railroad—along its Water Level Route—in 1950. At one time, Toledo had a streetcar system and interurban railways linking it to other nearby towns but these are no longer in existence. Freight rail service in Toledo is operated by the Norfolk Southern Railway, CSX Transportation, Canadian National Railway, Ann Arbor Railroad, and Wheeling and Lake Erie Railway. All except the Wheeling have local terminals; the Wheeling operates into Toledo from the east through trackage rights on Norfolk Southern to connect with the Ann Arbor and the CN. Of the seven Ohio stations served by Amtrak, Toledo was the busiest in FY2010, boarding or detraining an average of approximately 180 passengers daily.

Read more about this topic:  Toledo, Ohio Metropolitan Area, Transportation

Other articles related to "rail transportation, rail":

Semmering Pass - Rail Transportation
... The tunnel will comprise two 10 m bores between 40 and 70 m apart, linked by cross passages every 500m ... Boring is planned to start in 2014, with excavation completed ready for fitting out from 2021 ...
Peoria, Illinois - Infrastructure - Transportation - Rail Transportation
... There is no passenger rail connecting Peoria to other urban centers, although this possibility and the possibility of rail service that connects St ... Peoria's last intercity rail service ended in 1981, when Amtrak withdrew the Prairie Marksman, which stopped in nearby East Peoria ...

Famous quotes containing the word rail:

    We rail at trade, but the historian of the world will see that it was the principle of liberty; that it settled America, and destroyed feudalism, and made peace and keeps peace; that it will abolish slavery.
    Ralph Waldo Emerson (1803–1882)