Timeline of The Irish Confederate Wars - 1647


  • Spring: Inchiquin launches a major offensive in Munster, quickly capturing Dromana, Cappoquin and Dungarvan.
  • June 1647: Ormonde surrenders Dublin to the English Parliamentarians, preferring them to the Catholic Confederates.
  • August: The Confederate Leinster Army is destroyed by an English Parliamentarian force at the battle of Dungan's Hill, in county Meath.
  • Owen Roe ONeills Ulster Army lays waste to the area around Dublin, burning food supplies to prevent the Parliamentarian army under from advancing into Confederate territory.
  • September: Sack of Cashel, Parliamentarian forces under Inchiquin sack Cashel, County Tipperary and massacre its garrison.
  • November 1647: Battle of Knocknanauss. The Confederate Munster Army is routed by the Parliamentarians in county Cork.

Read more about this topic:  Timeline Of The Irish Confederate Wars

Other articles related to "1647":

History Of Tax Resistance - Examples - 17th Century - Italian Tax Revolts, 1647
... Residents of Palermo and of Naples revolted in 1647 and destroyed the tax offices and the homes of tax farmers ...
List Of Ordinances And Acts Of The Parliament Of England, 1642–1660 - 1647
... 2 January 1646/7 Ordinance continuing till 1 January 1647 –8, the Ordinance of 7 February 1645–6, for impressing mariners for the fleet. 13 March 1646/7 Ordinance continuing, from 26 March 1647, to 26 March 1648, the Ordinances for Tunnage and Poundage dated 1 July 1642, and 21. 16 April 1647 Ordinance to settle the Militia of London ...